We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A great lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
Ranked #23 of 1,872 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Garden District
Description: Commander's Palace welcomes everyone but we do have a dress code. It's a festive atmosphere! Shorts are never allowed. Inventive modern New Orleans cooking coexists with our Haute Creole. Sense the team's professional grace clothed in the warmth of the Brennan Family's brand of hospitality. From your first sip of a Sazerac to your last crumb of bread pudding soufflé, we hope you are pampered and delighted...and go ahead be a little bad...that's what living in New Orleans is all about.
Metropolis, Illinois
Level Contributor
187 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We ate lunch here while on a self-guided walking tour of the beautiful garden district. We were given a jingle bell to wear around our necks for the holidays. They also had Christmas carolers as well to serenade us while we ate lunch. I had shrimp and grits which were wonderful. I hesitantly tried the turle soup and was pleasantly surprised as it was really good. The service was top notch and we were guided through their kitchen as we were taken to our table. I tried some of my husband's bread pudding souffle with whiskey sauce and I highly recommend it. If you order an entree for lunch, you are able to order up to three martinis for 25 cents each. They had several to choose from. This was quite an experience.
The only drawback was that it was really noisy in the dining room and I had a difficult time carrying on a conversation. This was due to the fact that there were several large tables with many of the guests talking rather loudly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jlcarter1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,635
    1,033
    492
    166
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
san clemente, CA
Level Contributor
196 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Undisputed champion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Eating here takes you back to an earlier era, when going out to dinner was special. I really like the formal dress and amazing service. You should eat here at least once in your travels to NOLA.
Warmly greeted on arrival. This time we were escorted to our table thru a working kitchen. Everyone stops briefly to greet you. So fun to see the activity of the kitchen .
Extensive wine list, which is very reasonably priced surprisingly.
Food is outstanding as is the service. This time had the turtle soup, which they're known for. It was excellent. Our party had the " whole hog" dish which featured several sections of the pig. Cooked perfectly. Also the redfish which was well prepared. Strawberry shortcake was a nice finishing touch.
I had purchased their cookbook previously. It is my favorite. Recipes are easy to follow and dishes come out great. This place is the total package.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank westphillyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Do you come here for the best and most cutting edge cuisine in the city? No. You come here for an old school dining experience. You make a reservation, you dress nicely, you set aside a couple of hours of your day to dine at leisure, and then you arrive and simply enjoy dining the way civilized people used to. Start with a cocktail or two as you enjoy the atmosphere and the company of friends, peruse the menu and wine list and employ the well informed staff to offer suggestions, and then just sit back and enjoy a very fine meal, with professional service in a lovely atmosphere.

Last time we went, we did a walking tour of the Garden District to work up our appetite and then had a wonderful lunch with friends in the courtyard. It’s hard to beat the 25 cent martini’s at lunch, the food is good but not great, and the service was as near perfect as I have ever experienced. One of the biggest pluses to dining at Commanders is the people watching, as you get to see an interesting mix of locals and tourists, and the locals always impress me with their dress and manners, and truly do understand that the meal as the event.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DuckFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“terrific food awesome atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

we went to the sat am jazz brunch the food was some of the best we have ever had !! we started off with the peAch bellini which are great the gumbo was great and the quail and the pancakes were terrific the jazz trio comes around every 45 min or so and they are great the service was outstanding a must if you are in NOLA !!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bobgct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, atmosphere and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had Jazz Brunch at Commanders Palace. What a wonderful meal, particularly after having a disappointing meal at Emeril's the night before. Had the gumbo, shrimp bisque, turtle soup, shrimp and grits, blue crab frittata, strawberry shortcake and bread pudding soufflé. Everything was exceptional. The staff was warm, welcoming and friendly. The pace of the meal was prompt but not rushed. Took a LONG walk back to the French Quarter afterwards to work off all of that food, but it sure was worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing