We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend of Football in New Orleans!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
Ranked #14 of 1,842 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Garden District
Description: Commander's Palace welcomes everyone but we do have a dress code. It's a festive atmosphere! Shorts are never allowed. Inventive modern New Orleans cooking coexists with our Haute Creole. Sense the team's professional grace clothed in the warmth of the Brennan Family's brand of hospitality. From your first sip of a Sazerac to your last crumb of bread pudding soufflé, we hope you are pampered and delighted...and go ahead be a little bad...that's what living in New Orleans is all about.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Weekend of Football in New Orleans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I enjoy Commander's Palace each time we visit New Orleans. My son joined me this time for dinner and he was quite impressed with the service and the quality of food. The service is just as great as the food and it's worth the price you pay. The atmosphere is pleasant for all occasions. We will be back again...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wilsondlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,291
    947
    444
    153
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Elegantly Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We went here for Thanksgiving Dinner and were so happy we did. Amazing service, great wine pairing suggestions and absolutely delicious food. We enjoyed a perfectly cooked filet mignon, incredible lamb shank, an adorable and tasty turducken squab and light and flavorful scallops. The escargot were delish, as were all our appetizers. Get the bread pudding souffle. Delicious. They will bring you extra whiskey sauce! There are enough reviews of this place. Just go. And wear your jacket. You'll look nicer, and the food will taste better!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DoroMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The pinnacle of a proper dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Going out for an expensive meal is a rarity with us (in Peru we averaged $3 a dinner) but if you want to splurge and do it right, eat here. We went for the Sunday Jazz brunch and loved it. The service, food, and music were all excellent. Dress nice and take it all in. We tried to reserve online but had no luck but then we called and they had room. Well worth the tab.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aggie1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, FL
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't miss the bread pudding soufflé”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had dinner here during a girls weekend getaway to New Orleans and it was fantastic. On arrival we were greeted the old school way by a maitre d and uniformed staff lined up to form a welcoming committee! Maybe it was because we had early reservations but it was very impressive.
I had the turtle soup (first time and it was so good I could have made a meal of it), the quail (very good), and for dessert we all had the bread pudding soufflé. Get your own (we did) because it is so good you don't want to share. I have never tasted anything so light and melt in your mouth sinful and heaven at the same time. I ordered the wine that was recommended with my meal and it was perfect. I topped it off with a cappuccino.
I've been to New Orleans every year for the last 5 years and this is the first time I've dined at Commander's Palace - I will make sure that I come back each time I am in town.
The service is fantastic, the food amazing, and the atmosphere very elegant and a reminder of the way things were back in the day - or should have been.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Comitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Birthday spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Took our daughter here for her 21st birthday. Excellent food, service, and beautiful setting. Just what you would expect from a New Orleans tradition.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing