We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am surprised it is not rated #1 in New Orleans”
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
Ranked #30 of 1,955 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Garden District
Description: Commander's Palace welcomes everyone but we do have a dress code. It's a festive atmosphere! Shorts are never allowed. Inventive modern New Orleans cooking coexists with our Haute Creole. Sense the team's professional grace clothed in the warmth of the Brennan Family's brand of hospitality. From your first sip of a Sazerac to your last crumb of bread pudding soufflé, we hope you are pampered and delighted...and go ahead be a little bad...that's what living in New Orleans is all about.
Kenner, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
460 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“I am surprised it is not rated #1 in New Orleans”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

The service is excellent. I have never been to another restaurant that can come close to comparing. Since it is pricey, we enjoy coming here for a special occasion.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank JBernard20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,240
    1,162
    557
    186
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“All time Favorite in the City rated for best dining”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Be sure to make a reservation and inquire if you can be seated in the Garden Room as it is uniquely enchanting. Service is impeccable ( I love when a dark napkin is substituted for a white one if you are wearing dark clothes). Turtle Soup and Bread Pudding Souffle to die for. The 3 course Prix Fixe menu is a great value. This is not a restaurant for one on a budget but if one is adventurous and the weather is nice, take the street car and walk 2 blocks from St. Charles and then splurge.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gigiparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Turtle Soup”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Absorb all this place has to offer - try the turtle soup - it's amazing! Enjoy each course and take time to enjoy the environment around you. Ask your server about the history of the restaurant, it use to be a brothel! We even got a tour of the place - through the kitchen and everything. It was great!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank HelloK8e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscumbia, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Staff and Great Service”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I can honestly say that I was very impressed with Commander's Palace. Upon entering the restaurant our group of 4 were greeted by everyone that we met from the valet attendant, the reception area and the waiters that we passed. We were seated upstairs and the view was breathtaking. I would recommend reservations and request to be seated upstairs if available. I would like to mention one waiter by the name of Billy that went out of his way to make sure that we were well taken care off. The food was excellent and the Bread Pudding is wonderful.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TLHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Everything that it was supposed to be.”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

After having a rather "off" experience at Commander's a few years ago, my wife and I decided to give it another shot on our anniversary. We were not disappointed. The food was very good (the gumbo was meh), and the service was excellent. The drinks waiter accidentally began to put champagne we hadn't ordered on our table, and caught her mistake halfway. Very apologetic, she later brought us complimentary shooters of their mango rum cocktail (that was delicious).

Otherwise, the service was attentive, but unobtrusive. Some of the neighboring tables of several people did get a little rambunctious, but it was a Saturday night, and New Orleans, and we would likely have been as much were it not just the two of us.

Dress code: My wife wore a nice "going out" dress and I wore dress slacks, a button-down, and a jacket with no tie. We seemed to be in the average, with some dressed a half step nicer, and a few others in polos and khakis. In short, dudes wear your church clothes, but not necessarily Easter or Christmas nice (though you wouldn't be out of place if you did). You may feel uncomfortable in just polos and/or jeans. As mentioned before, shorts are a non-starter (despite the fact it gets stupid hot outside for much of the year).

In sum: Restaurants at that level all have similar quality food (with the exception of some signature dishes), it's the service that often distinguishes them. This visit to Commander's reconfirmed its reputation...but YMMV. The experience before (albeit years ago) was pretty dismal.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmuskratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing