We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Irene's Cuisine

Irene's Cuisine
Ranked #22 of 1,918 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Carle Place, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The food was delicious. The service was fantastic. Everyone who worked there was so friendly. Our waiter was great. They went out of their way for us. Had a great time there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eer607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,223
    329
    106
    53
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Irene's is my favorite New Orleans restaurant. (That says something right there!) I visit here several times a year and take my Tulane student out and we have been to many great restaurants but Irene's is just delicious, and it's great every time - whether you love seafood, steaks, duck, chicken, adventurous food or something that sounds simple and tastes divine - Irene's delivers. There's usually a wait and they have a bar area with music. There are several rooms - it's charming. But it's really all about the food isn't it? and the food is extraordinary.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Longhorn1844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Loved our waiter, very knowledgable and friendly. Food was great. Filet was cooked perfect to order and meatballs were yummy. Wish I could have tried the praline bread pudding but was stuffed. Will go back.

Helpful?
Thank Carebear2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vientiene
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Fella's-like, but in a good way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

A place with this formula (old classy interior, standard italian dishes done to death, your waiter is your pal type-service) would be successful anywhere on earth -so how was the execution?

Fairly great. Lasagna, even cheese ravioli, were absolutely top of the mark. The much praised fried soft shell crab was the best I ever had. Wines were a bargain (for the quarter, anyway) given their quality. We had mainly appetizers and that was wise, given the richness of the food. Service was the best we had in the quarter.

No surprises, no innovation, just a flawless experience. You can see why they fill up.

With so many interesting choices in the quarter, it doesn't quite make it into the must-return category of R'evolution or August for me, but if you like their menu or are with an older, more conservative diner, this place will tick all the boxes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ken d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Italian with a Lousiana Fair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I must have gotten lucky. I made a 6pm reservation on the same day and got right in. Somebody wrote they don't take reservations, but they do.
I had the Drumfish Crevette which was delicious and my wife had the Veal Marsala which she thoroughly enjoyed. We skipped desert because additional drinking would be following this culinary treat. Deserts looked good though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mc423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irene's Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Irene's Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing