We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Irene's Cuisine

Irene's Cuisine
Ranked #24 of 1,932 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on a rainy night without any reservations but only had to wait a half hour before being seated. Upon being seated our service was just excellent. My wife and I love Italian and we were not disappointed at this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Ebojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,243
    333
    106
    54
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE.....TOURIST TRAP!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Well, we waited 45 minutes to be seated and we had a reservation. They never apologized and just made lame excuses that other patrons were taking too long to eat. Anyways, after we finally did get seated, we got our menus. On our menus there were very few traditional pasta dishes available. I had to order spaghetti and meatballs off the appetizer menu, they did offer to make it an entree size. My boyfriend ordered the Ricotta and Spinach Ravioli off the appetizer menu. He was told that they would make it an entree size, they gave him four raviolis. Our food tasted like we ordered it at the local mall italian restaurant. It was HORRIBLE and very acidic! The restaurant is crowded and loud. Not romantic at all.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CeCeonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No pasta?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

As a vegetarian, Italian restaurants are usually reliable for veg-friendly food. My food was awesome, but how can I return when I have no variety? Sunny was the best; he truly attempted to accommodate me. The ambiance was romantic and I left full. Definitely save room for the bread pudding, which is like 3 desserts in one, complete with cinnamon whipped cream, iced cream, bananas with bananas foster sauce....mmmmm. Add some simple pasta dishes so I can come back each week!

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy138
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“My favorite meal in NOLA this trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We ate at several wonderful restaurants in New Orleans, but this was my favorite. Cozy, atmosphere, wonderful food and waiters. We started with the Escargot (stuffed in mushrooms - yum!) For entrees, I had the fish almandine (made with a local black drum) and my husband had the cioppino (San Francisco style fish stew). We will definately return. I had read that sometimes there is a long wait, but we walked right in on a Wednesday night.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Had the best meal from drinks to dessert it starts when they open the door and greet you until the time they say thank you! food, service and atmosphere A++++++++ ! So awesome make a reservation or expect to wait a little but worth it completely

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sparkles42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irene's Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Irene's Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing