We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite possibly the best meal Ive ever had.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Irene's Cuisine

Irene's Cuisine
Ranked #22 of 1,918 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Washington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quite possibly the best meal Ive ever had.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The smell drew us in. We had no idea what to expect. The decor was cozy dim lit and the wait long but we were finally seated and the crab au gratin appetizer was served and it melted in my mouth with rich creamy and absolutley incredible taste. The entre was Drum Fish Almondine with a crab topping and my wife had the lamb chops with garlic mashed and string beans. It was a burst of flavors on the palet. Cudos to the chefs artistic culinary expressions. I will be back and would reccomend you go too..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cnctony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,223
    329
    106
    53
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“impeccable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I'm hesitant to write a review of Irene's as it once was considered such a hidden gem and 'those in the know' don't want the secret to get out, but it looks like it is already too late... I can't speak highly enough of this restaurant. Fantastic food, amosphere, and piano player! The live piano certainly made the wait for the table very enjoyable. <And don't be a jerk ---- be sure to tip the musicians!!> Food and service were amazing. I have been to NOLA 8 times and I am familiar with how Awesome the food scene is there -- Irene's certainly did not disappoint! Great place - I will Definitely be back!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank petsozzie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring, md
Level Contributor
554 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Very Good Italian Food and Welcoming Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

First, the only negative - expect a long wait, even if you have reservations. However, this is outweighed by the many positives about this place. First, even though you will almost certainly have a long wait, the restaurant has a very nice lounge in which you can listen to live entertainment and have a drink. Next, the food is really, really good Italian cuisine. Also, the atmosphere is charming and intimate (even though the restaurant is very large, the space is broken up into small rooms that give it a cozy feel). Finally, the service is efficient and the servers are very friendly. I will return with each trip to New Orleans.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank IAP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The best Italian Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This place is an authentic Italian restaurant. Irene came over from Italy and the restaurant has 3 rooms that are furnished with items from her home in Italy. There is a kitchen, wine cellar and dining room. The decor is amazing, the food is more amazing and the service is run by the family which was excellent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dpsling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in New Orleans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you like Italian (with a touch of Creole) this is the place. The food was excellent, service was fast and the place was cozy. It may not look impressive (it used to be a warehouse building) and quite cramped but well decorated inside. The place was packed and the servers were very attentive.

We had bruscetta to start, grilled fish (pompano?) and our choice of wine. To end the meal, we had their teramisu. All dishes were prepared bery well and tasted great.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stargazer_edm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irene's Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Irene's Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing