We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top 10 in the US for a reason”
Review of GW Fins

GW Fins
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 9/25
8:00 PM
Ranked #1 of 1,876 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $58
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Bourbon, Dauphine
Transit: Bienville & Rampart
Description: Experience the cuisine that has created raving fans of local diners and national and local food critics alike. Executive Chef Michael Nelson and Chef/Owner Tenney Flynn ensure the highest quality seafood by flying in products from around the globe and featuring only the best from local waters - both at their seasonal peak. This commitment to freshness and variety are two of the many reasons GW Fins prints its menu daily and has received numerous glowing reviews in The Times-Picayune (4 beans), Food & Wine, Southern Living and Esquire magazines. We look forward to serving you soon so we may learn what you think.
Reviewed October 26, 2019 via mobile

This place definitely lives up to its top 10 rating from excellent service to excellent food this delivers!

Date of visit: October 2019
2  Thank Imaginistictravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (8,092)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 447 of 8,092 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2019 via mobile

WONDERFUL meal. Waitress Tori was amazingly informative in directing our selections and she was RIGHT ON. She's also very upbeat and added to our ambience. Thank you, Tori!
The Tempura Fin Wings were the BEST if 3 appetizers we tried. They are AMAZING - sweet, savory and thought about ordering more. Best entree was the John Dory fish special, all 4 of us agreed. Best dessert we tried was the Samoa. Best drinks were CLEAR Chocolate Martinis and, for sweet drink, South Specific which we I changed the regular rum to coconut rum and was SO good.

Date of visit: October 2019
2  Thank d828
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2019

I have to question anyone that would give this restaurant less than 5 stars. It seriously boggles my mind. It is fantastic. The service was great, and the food even better. It starts out with their wondering biscuits, but be careful because they will keep coming around to give them to you. We both had different fish items, and sooooo good. Their drinks were marvelous as well. Could not possibly do a dessert, but seeing them walk around with them, well, I really wish I was hungry. Make a reservation here, you won't regret it.

Date of visit: October 2019
2  Thank 269Trina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2019 via mobile

Couldn’t be happier to have found this gem. Very nice setting and every dish as good as it sounded. Staff is excellent and accommodating, best meal we had during our stay. Loved the gumbo, fish dishes, everything fresh and flavorful. If this isn’t on your list, change your plans and dine here!

Date of visit: October 2019
2  Thank homegrowngreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2019

Fins is a primary seafood restaurant walking distance from Bourbon Street.
Very modern atmosphere, wonderful fresh fish selections prepared exceptionally well and served with class.
Prices are high, but worth it.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank BJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GW Fins also viewed

 

Been to GW Fins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.