We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Tuna ”
Review of GW Fins

GW Fins
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 9/25
8:00 PM
Ranked #1 of 1,876 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $58
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Bourbon, Dauphine
Transit: Bienville & Rampart
Description: Experience the cuisine that has created raving fans of local diners and national and local food critics alike. Executive Chef Michael Nelson and Chef/Owner Tenney Flynn ensure the highest quality seafood by flying in products from around the globe and featuring only the best from local waters - both at their seasonal peak. This commitment to freshness and variety are two of the many reasons GW Fins prints its menu daily and has received numerous glowing reviews in The Times-Picayune (4 beans), Food & Wine, Southern Living and Esquire magazines. We look forward to serving you soon so we may learn what you think.
Reviewed September 30, 2019 via mobile

So the menu is printed daily depending on the catch of the day. Also they reserve half the seats for walk-ins, the other half is for reservations.

I had the swordfish it was good, but the yellow tail was amazing the best I’ve ever had.

Tip: On Saints game day they open at 3:00.

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank Ashle8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (8,092)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

506 - 510 of 8,092 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2019 via mobile

Absolutely great place for seafood - everything we ordered was delicious (lobster dumplings, ceviche, swordfish and yellowfin tuna). The bread pudding was fantastic as were the cocktails. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank AnniK_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2019 via mobile

The restaurant was highly recommend by two people.The wife and I made reservations for dinner. We where very happy with the place.Kenny was our server he came recommend by the doorman Malcolm. We would recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank adventures4angelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2019

This was our favourite dining experience in New Orleans. Everything was perfect — the food, the wine, the ambience. The service was impeccable. Every item we ordered was more delicious than the next. If I could eat those lobster dumplings every day I would. A must visit! Will definitely come back next time we're in New Orleans!

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jessica6754
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2019

I visited GW Fins during their Lobster Fest week in September.

The specials were creative. They add a bunch of appetizers and a few entree options to their menu that makes it almost impossible to decide.

I tried the Lobster Carbonara appetizer that was served up as gnocci with lobster chunks, pancetta, and parmesano. Very, very good.

For the entree, I tried the yellow tail tuna (check out the pic), with sticky rice and vegetables. Excellent.

As I mentioned in my previous review, GW Fins is in the conversation for one of the top restaurants in New Orleans. In the French Quarter, they are now my #1 recommended restaurant. If you're in town for 1 night, you can't go wrong dining there.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GW Fins also viewed

 

Been to GW Fins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.