We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best NOLA meal”
Review of GW Fins

GW Fins
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 9/25
8:00 PM
Ranked #1 of 1,876 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $58
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Bourbon, Dauphine
Transit: Bienville & Rampart
Description: Experience the cuisine that has created raving fans of local diners and national and local food critics alike. Executive Chef Michael Nelson and Chef/Owner Tenney Flynn ensure the highest quality seafood by flying in products from around the globe and featuring only the best from local waters - both at their seasonal peak. This commitment to freshness and variety are two of the many reasons GW Fins prints its menu daily and has received numerous glowing reviews in The Times-Picayune (4 beans), Food & Wine, Southern Living and Esquire magazines. We look forward to serving you soon so we may learn what you think.
Reviewed September 27, 2019 via mobile

GWFins was probably the best meal we had while visiting New Orleans. Service and meals were impeccable. We had a magical meal and experience and I would highly recommend this lovely restaurant! Bon vivant!

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank TerriR588
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (8,092)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 515 of 8,092 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2019 via mobile

Went here for dinner had a great night of food and wine. Went another night on the off chance and got a seat in the bar area.

Bar staff exceptional. Food really good, recommend the biscuits which for us reminded us of very light small scones.

Need to book, and they do enforce having a collar for guys. They will lend you a polo shirt- heard them offer that to someone.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank RogerJ487
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2019 via mobile

Had a great dinner here. Started off with the BBQ Shrimp and then the Scallops. Everything was excellent. I sat at the bar and had good conversations with Len, the bartender, who is newer. He recommended a great drink and dessert. I would definitely go back.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank carixiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2019

We took a step up in celebrating our anniversary by making a reservation to GW Fins. And we were not disappointed. Walk down Bourbon Street and turn left after the Bourbon Cowboy (love that name) onto Bienville. You step out of the noise and mayhem into a tranquil (yet open) setting. The dining room is beautifully appointed. Our waiter, Oliver, and several others who helped, kept us content and happy. The meal was pricey but it was well worth it. If you want fresh fish that is impeccably prepared this is your place. I had the Sheepshead which was parmesan crusted. My wife thoroughly enjoyed the lobster and mushroom risotto. And did I mention the triple wedge salad? Wow! We closed out a great night with the Salty Malty Ice cream pie. Wonderful night.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2019 via mobile

Great service. Waiter recommended right food for each of our tastes. Scallibut combo was fantastic. Price very much within reason considering quality and service.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank tamichawk84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GW Fins also viewed

 

Been to GW Fins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.