We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Found Gem”
Review of GW Fins

GW Fins
Reserve with OpenTable
GW Fins is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 1,963 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $58
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Bourbon, Dauphine
Transit: Bienville & Rampart
Description: Experience the cuisine that has created raving fans of local diners and national and local food critics alike. Chef Tenney Flynn (two time winner of "Chef of the Year" in New Orleans Magazine) ensures the highest quality seafood by flying in products from around the globe and featuring only the best from local waters - both at their seasonal peak. This commitment to freshness and variety are two of the many reasons GW Fins prints its menu daily and has received numerous glowing reviews in The Times-Picayune (4 beans), Food & Wine, Southern Living and Esquire magazines. We look forward to serving you soon so we may learn what you think.
Princeton, wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New Found Gem”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

After finding GW Fins on Trip Advisor, my husband and I decided to check it out--we were not disappointed. Our waiter Ricardo was very well informed regarding both the liquor and food menus. The entire waitstaff did an outstanding job. The timing between courses was perfect. We both enjoyed the French 75 Martini that began our dining experience. From our WG Shrimp appetizer to the creme brulee for dessert, everything tasted great. The spinach salad and Scalibut were our salad and main entree choices. The decor was a delight to the eye and the restaurant's set up was unique. We will definitely go back on our next visit to the French Quarter.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,429
    910
    278
    74
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great, great, great”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Went for dinner our last night in New Orleans What a meal. Professional, great food that looked and tasted terrific. We had a 3 hour meal with wine and dessert and never felt pushed by the staff. The staff was informative and would talk about preparation fluently. The smoked oysters were the best ever! The grouper was a huge piece of fish, well seasoned but not over spiced. Save room for the bread pudding, it it worth the calorie hit. I love port and they had a 1975 that was amazing and a big pour. Great place don't miss going here if you are in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Saturday night at GW Fins”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

My mother and I ate here in March 2013. We had a 9pm reservation and we were seated promptly. We started with the lobster ravioli which was light & tasty, although very small. Mom had the scalibut & I had the swordfish. Swordfish was flavorful, but a bit over cooked. Scalibut was excellent! Service was on point, but faltered a bit at the end with clearing away dirty glasses/plates before dessert. Was pricey, about $150 for the two of us - including 3 glasses of wine. With so many restaurants in the quarter, may not visit again soon, but was a very enjoyable meal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eat where the locals go”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Menu changes daily, reflecting what is local and fresh. Service is enthusiastic, which is particularly impressive for a tourist town. Best place for Louisiana sea food. If available, go for the tempura red fish- bones and all.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Very fresh fish in an elegant setting”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

As others have said, even though this is just off Bourbon Street, you'd never know it once the front doors close behind you, and you enter the elegant dining room. Overall the service was good, but we were getting a bit thirsty by the time our water glasses were filled, almost 10 minutes after we were seated. This was definitely very fresh fish, and was expertly prepared with sauces that complemented the courses beautifully. The "Scalibut" - their house specialty - was a delicious pairing of scallops and halibut with a lobster/tomato based sauce. Fantastic! Since the menu changes daily, I can't refer back to that now, to help me write this review, to include what everyone else at the table ordered. Suffice it to say, we were very pleased with our first dinner in NOLA for the JazzFest.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stork90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to GW Fins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing