We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing like late @ nite!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clover Grill

Clover Grill
Ranked #231 of 1,920 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nothing like late @ nite!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

If after a day in the French Quarter and you still need entertainment....show up at the Clover after mid-nite. As for late nite food is the best greasy hamburgers and all the other late food you would expect. It is always a experience!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank texastravelgal54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    287
    91
    46
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
276 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“A Good Greasy Spoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

There is nothing glamorous about this tiny little dinner on the northern edge of Bourbon Street. I recon there are 12 stools at two counters offering as much leg room as coach class on today's airlines. Add a few table and you get maybe 36-seats total. A word of caution, do not stand in the aisles because floor space is cramped and you will get in the way of the servers which will bring out some rather stern requests to get out of their way.

You have not lived until you have been in this little diner at 5 AM on a Mardi Gras morning!

The menu is limited; but, they do serve a fabulous omelet. How one griddle cook handles all the meals is worthy of sitting at the counter to just watch the theater of eggs being cracked and whipped in the blenders, chopping of ingredients on the griddle, servers passing back and forth in a space hardly wide enough for a single person.

As far a greasy....the silverware was clean but the walls are covered in decades of "food and atmospheric character." Open 24-hours!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TraveljohnsonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“No frills old New Orleans Diner in the French Quarter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

It's not fancy and could use a fresh coat of paint but, you'll be glad to know about it so that you can come here after eating at a fancy place for top dollar and not getting full. That's when you come here to get a burger or whatever to finish dinner. Best part - the eclectic group of people - from all corners - classic New Orleans!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dav695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great early morning breakfast place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in the French Quarter of New Orleans,LA. We are early risers, and found the perfect little grill for breakfast just out on a walk at 6:30 am. The Clover Grill was open, smelled delicious, and had 3 very friendly gentlemen grillin', making coffee and just opening up the place. It seems they do quite the amount of carry-out too. Our eggs, hashbrowns, bacon, toast etc were only minutes from ordering time and we could watch the cook prepare them as the grill is right behind the counter. It's very small, but with a nice counter to sit at, or a few tables scattered about. The coffee was steaming hot and endless! The 3 gentlemen were so pleasant and talkative with us we hated to leave as we finished our last coffee refills! I think anyone who reads this should go there and enjoy as we did!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vloomis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Local treasure -”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Near Bourbon street, we found this small cafe. Only 5 tables and a few at the counter. The breakfast was awesome - from the biscuits and gravy to the enormours omelettes. The staff were great and the prices incredible. Talked to a few locals there who visit this cafe on a regular basis and couldn't talk it up enough - I see why. Good option in a place where it is easy to get ripped off -

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clover Grill also viewed

 

Been to Clover Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing