We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A casual New Orleans dining experience you shouldn't miss”
Review of Jacques-Imo's Cafe

Jacques-Imo's Cafe
Ranked #23 of 1,948 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Southwestern, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Uptown / Carrollton
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
204 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A casual New Orleans dining experience you shouldn't miss”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

A trip uptown in New Orleans should always include dinner at Jacques-Imo's. It can't be beat! If you're staying downtown, you can drive, take a cab, or take the St. Charles streetcar up to Carrollton and then get off at Oak Street. If you drive and you get there before six, you shouldn't have much difficulty finding parking spots on side streets. The wait staff is excellent! They all work together as a team to insure that you have an amazing dining experience. They'll start you off with cornbread muffins that are warm and so buttery that they melt in your mouth. They'll offer you seconds, but try to resist and save room for dessert (bread pudding or crème brulee). We had the shrimp creole and the redfish, and, between us, sides of mashed sweet potatoes, red beans and rice, and corn. Everything was delicious. With the entrée, you'll get a house salad of baby spinach with a fried oyster on top. Their signature appetizer is alligator cheesecake. If you haven't had it before, you should order one serving for your table so everyone can get a taste. Bon Appetit!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ARretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,049
    308
    118
    35
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Point New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

softshell crab is fantastic...it is in a wonderfully artsy area enjoy the surroundings artist paintings. the food is reasonably prices and the atmosphere is awesome. a must go to off the beaten path...enjoy

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Familyof534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great local cuisine”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We knew we had to make a visit to Jacque-Imo's Cafe a priority on our trip after receiving two separate recommendations. Although it was a little bit of a hike from our B&B just outside the French Quarter, overall the food and atmosphere were worth it. It definitely didn't feel like a tourist attraction, which was important to us. The only downside was that we had to wait about 45 minutes for a table on a Monday night, but we were able to enjoy drinks at the bar. Our cab driver warned us that the service at Jacques-Imo's left something to be desired, but we found quite the opposite- our bartender was pleasant and engaging and our waitress was attentive and helpful.

Now, about the food. We were greeted with warm, buttery cornbread muffins, and although they don't sound particularly noteworthy, we would have happily sustained ourselves on those for the main meal. Yum. I was pleased when they came around with seconds! We ordered the shrimp and alligator cheesecake for an appetizer and found it delicious- savory, but not overly salty, with the right balance of alligator sausage and cheese. Our entrees, however, were the reason Jacques-Imo's did not earn 5 stars; they were pretty good, but not spectacular. I ordered the crawfish etouffee and it was fine, and my husband ordered the paneed rabbit and found it a little chewy (that might just be the nature of rabbit, though). Again, both were fine meals, but we were more impressed with the cheesecake and those delicious little cornbreads.

The atmosphere is a little quirky, which we enjoyed. Overall, I would visit Jacques-Imo's again but try something different for the entree; everything else was fantastic.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kweiland06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good dining experience in Uptown District”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The food here is very good and you should arrive a little early or expect to wait. We had the Cajun Shrimp, Smothered Chicken and BBQ Shrimp and all the dishes were excellent. One of our party is a local and thought the BBQ Shrimp was better than Pascal's Manale. We also had the Shrimp and Alligator Cheesecake appetizer on the house's recommendation, which sounds very weird but tasted quite good.

The place itself has a bar in front and you walk through the kitchen to get to the dining room in the back. There is artwork all over the walls, and ceiling, and the dining room has a very eclectic feel about it. The artwork even extends out to the street where they have an old painted pickup that had a table and chairs in back. It was too cold our night but it looks like you can have a table on the street if you like.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Something Local”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Although we were staying in the quarter, we ventured to Imo's and it was a delight. There was about a 2 hour wait for dinner, but there was a street festival going on so we were able to enjoy that during the wait. The waiting area can get a little crowded, but there's a bar if you want to get a drink while you're waiting.
The alligator cheesecake was unexpected, and good. Our favorite were the fried green tomatos though. Be ready to roll yourself out of there- and wear your fat pants!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ria411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacques-Imo's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Jacques-Imo's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing