We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local favorite”
Review of Jacques-Imo's Cafe

Jacques-Imo's Cafe
Ranked #17 of 1,946 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Uptown / Carrollton
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
172 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Local favorite”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Worth the wait - and you will. Unless there are 6 in your party there are no reservations. It's first come-first served. The bar is extremely small and likewise not much room to wait. Most waited outside on sidewalk. Definitely a local crowd and casual.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveljim007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,039
    301
    117
    35
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Funky and fun atmosphere with awesome food”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We visited with four adults and four children. The house is really cute and fun. Our waiter was very knowledgable. We had the alligator cheesecake ( must try ), fried green tomatoes, blackened redfish, creole, étouffée red beans, rice, bread pudding and cream brûlée. It was ALL excellent!! You can not go wrong with anything on the menu! Highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bellabluskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Went on a Saturday night. Had no reservations. Arrived at 600P and told an hour or so wait, and they hit that pretty close (1:10).

Had the shrimp and alligator cheesecake appetizer. Really good, but it's not a sweet dish. Think more like quiche but not exactly.

Had the redfish - really tasty. Friend had mahi-mahi with pistachios- tasty as well. Sides were simple vegetables - I had mashed sweet potatoes and corn macque chow.

Helpful?
Thank bamarockmtn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Best southern food we've had. Awesome service. Excellent selection. Get the bread pudding, jambalaya, stuffed shrimp, and calamari. Unbelievable corn bread too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noahsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's always worth the wait”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Staff and wait service was great. Come hungry. Expect a party atmosphere. If you have 5 and can get reservations, do it up to 30 days in advance. If you come after 7, prepare to wait a little. Put your name in and go to the Maple Leaf next door for a drink.

We had to wait a little extra time and the hostess was kind and gave us two free appetizers.
At least a dozen great entrees on the menu. If you can't get good friend chicken, do it. I have been living in the South for 40 years and I can't remember better. Country- fried venison was great as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlantabenwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacques-Imo's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Jacques-Imo's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing