We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great prices, awesome ambiance!”
Review of Kingfish

Kingfish
Reserve with OpenTable
Kingfish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #97 of 1,976 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Conti
Description: Kingfish features New Louisiana Cuisine, which keeps the best of your favorite Cajun traditions and adds a new school twist. At the bar, enjoy both traditional New Orleans style cocktails, such as the Sazerac or the Pimm's Cup, as well as modern cocktails like the B Line and Amelia Earhart. All Day Summer Happy Hours | 11AM - 6PM 1/2 Off All Brews & Wines By The Glass Happiest of Hours | 3:30PM - 6PM 1/2 Off All Brews & Wines By The Glass + $5 Small Plates
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Most expensive item on the menu was $28 and it was an amazin steak and fries! We also had the cajun injected chicken which was huge and had a great presentation! Chicken was only $18. Beautiful restaurant! World renown bartender too.

Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

We appreciate the great review. The junky chick is a winner with our guests, especially the presentation. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at Kingfish so much and look forward to your next visit.

Happy Holidays,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen & Cocktails
Counter by Kingfish Market & Deli
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C #: 225-907-0977

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
There are newer reviews for Kingfish
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

735 - 739 of 873 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Loved the food. The crab salad croquet appetizer was so good. Nice slightly rustic atmosphere. Service was good, no real problems, but our server was not very friendly.

Thank Lampertstonian
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Thank you for the great feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We apologize for the server not being friendly, as we strive to make sure hospitality is passed on to our guests. Let us know if there is anything else we can assist you with.

Thank you,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen & Cocktails
Counter by Kingfish Market & Deli
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C#: 225-907-0977

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We ate here four days ago. We struggled to remember what dishes we ordered. This clearly shows that the food is just OK.

The server was from New Jersey. She was so well trained that I thought she would never stop with the unsolicited descriptions of the food. I find it very annoying when she would empty a bottle if wine into four glasses on the first pour. If I weren't such a nice guy, this should have affected the tip. The wine list was thin and not great in my opinion, but reasonably priced.

The restaurant has tasty mixed drinks with very big, cubes of ice. If you're into the cocktail trend, they do this very well.

I wonder if Huey P would be proud?

1  Thank JPax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

We apologize for the substandard experience. We are actually in the process of revising our wine list. If you would like to, please contact us so we can discuss how to make your next visit better.

Sincerely,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen & Cocktails
Counter by Kingfish Market & Deli
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C #: 225-907-0977

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Living in Baton Rouge I make pretty regular trips to New Orleans and I'm always looking for a new place to try. On this occasion I was there for a business conference and a group (6) of us hit the Quarter seeking delicious eats and drinks. One person in our party raved about Kingfish so we decided to try it out. Although they were busy we only had to wait 20 minutes or so for a table. The bar was packed and it did take a little while to get drinks while we waited but it was well worth the wait. The drink menu has some delicious concoctions that I've never seen before. Very imaginative. We tried at least 5 different drinks and loved them all. My favorite was "Sheilavsit" with "Blueberry Hill" running a close second. We were pleasantly surprised to be set up in a private room off the patio so I really can't comment on the noise level that I am seeing in other reviews. I highly recommend this dining option. Call and reserve the room and DEFINITELY request Robert as your waiter. You can find good food pretty much anywhere in New Orleans but I can easily say this was probably the best overall dining experience I've ever had. Robert was attentive, professional, hilariously funny, took extra time explaining all the items on the menu and even had one-on-one discussions with each person to determine which menu item we would enjoy the most. A couple people wanted to order wine so he made suggestions based on what they chose to eat. Appetizers were shared by all so we could each try multiple things. Favorites were "Shrimp Prima" and "Blue Crab Chop". For entrees, the sea scallops were amazing. Others chose the rabbit and duck dishes. We were all extremely satisfied with our dishes. Overall it was a wonderful experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear Jamie,

What an amazing review!! We appreciate the kind words and we will make sure to let Robert know about this. We take great pride to make sure all of our guests have a great time and it always feels great to have that effort validated. Let us know if there is anything else we can assist you with when you are back in New Orleans.

Happy Holidays,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen & Cocktails
Counter by Kingfish Market & Deli
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C #: 225-907-0977

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

The food is amazing. The drinks are out of control good. And if you're lucky enough to get Robert as your server you are in for an unbelievable dining experience.

Thank nyycarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

We appreciate the kinds words on your visit. Robert does a great job and we will make sure to share this review with him. Let us know if there is anything else we can assist you with.

Happy Holidays,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen & Cocktails
Counter by Kingfish Market & Deli
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C #: 225-907-0977

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfish also viewed

 

Been to Kingfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing