We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect evening”
Review of Kingfish

Kingfish
Reserve with OpenTable
Kingfish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #115 of 2,009 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Conti
Description: Kingfish features New Louisiana Cuisine, which keeps the best of your favorite Cajun traditions and adds a new school twist. At the bar, enjoy both traditional New Orleans style cocktails, such as the Sazerac or the Pimm's Cup, as well as modern cocktails like the B Line and Amelia Earhart. All Day Summer Happy Hours | 11AM - 6PM 1/2 Off All Brews & Wines By The Glass Happiest of Hours | 3:30PM - 6PM 1/2 Off All Brews & Wines By The Glass + $5 Small Plates
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Spent a relaxing evening among great service and food. Buffalo sliders,shrimp and sweet potato purée waffle and bacon wrapped jalapeños to start. All incredible. The kingfish served on a block of salt was not only pleasing to the eye but a feast. Layers of collard greens and lemons bake above the block of salt to create this sweet texture of flavors all topped with pecan butter. Ended this perfect meal with the Granny Smith bread pudding. Our best meal in Nola will surely made this a place to stop on every visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jjkcjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

We are delighted to hear the great feedback on the lil eats such as the jalapenos and shrimp gaufre. The bread pudding is our #1 selling dessert and one of my personal favorites. We appreciate the feedback, as we take great pride in providing a great experience for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen and Cocktails
Counter by Kingfish Market and Deli
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C #: 225-907-0977

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

817 - 821 of 921 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

There's nothing bad to say about Kingfish. Top notch all around. Amazing cocktails and I think the "Every Man a King" Fish is the best fish I've ever had. Fabulous atmosphere. Everything about it is great! For the perfect experience, ask for Robert as your server. We love him!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Crazyf0rTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at Kingfish. The Every Man a Kingfish is one of our most popular dishes. We will make sure to share this review with Robert. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Let us know if there is anything we can assist you with.

Thank you,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen and Cocktails
Counter by Kingfish Market and Deli
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C #: 225-907-0977

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We Had lunch here looking for a light lunch but always looking for really good local fare. The choice of cocktail recipes and ingredients for their menu items were made with the idea of things you would find in the 1930's but very much updated with flare. The result is amazingly good. They offer li'l bites making it light lunch if you want. The staff ( our waiter was Robert) are entertaining and loved sharing how the style concept for the place was created. A perfect blend of old Nawlins and modern chique. Would also be great for cocktail hour.

Thank CFV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

We appreciate the great feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the food, drinks and service so much. We will make sure to share this review with Robert. Thanks and we look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen and Cocktails
Counter by Kingfish Market and Deli
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C #: 225-907-0977

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My party consisting of three couples stopped in the other night a little before10 pm. There were three other folks sitting at the bar or else the place was empty. We were told that the kitchen was closed but the bar was open. Fine, we each ordered a cocktail. From the start it seemed that we were inconveniencing the bartender who muttered under his breath as he took his time making a Pimms Cup and Chocolate martini for the ladies. My friend asked for a Grey Goose and tonic and as he started pouring he realized he was at the bottom of the GG bottle, flipped it in the air and angrily left the bar area to return later with two full bottles. He took about 20 minutes to make six drinks. He than proceeded to lift up all the mats and started scrubbing floors with detergent. I should mention that the closed kitchen found the ability to bring out several plates of food for the people sitting near us. And still he kept scrubbing. After around a half hour we had finished our drinks, had not had a word of conversation with the barkeep, and asked another worker to get our bill. We paid cash and left, never to return. To a person we felt that we were unwanted. We are the best of customers for a bar/restaurant, eat and drink well and usually tip better. We have no intent of returning to the Kingfish.

3  Thank NJSteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

We apologize for the inconvenience that we caused during your visit. we take pride in making sure all of our guest have a great time, regardless of the time our guests visit. We appreciate the feedback and have made sure to be more aware of the items mentioned. We hope to see you again in the future. Let us know if there is any way to make your next visit better.

Thank you,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen and Cocktails
Counter by Kingfish Market and Deli
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C #: 225-907-0977

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

My first French Quarter restaurant visit. Excellent smoked rabbit gumbo and seafood cassoulet Chef Sonniers nod to old school Nola is mighty tasty. We ordered Zinfandel BTG and it was sold out with no mention of it on the wine list. It's 2013, wine drinkers care about vintages and an updated list. Would definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Perry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed the seafood cassoulet and the rabbit gumbo. The rabbit gumbo is a favorite of our guests. We apologize for the wine being sold out. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen and Cocktails
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C #: 225-907-0977

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfish also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Kingfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing