We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Kingfish

Kingfish
Reserve with OpenTable
Kingfish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #99 of 1,954 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Conti
Description: Kingfish features New Louisiana Cuisine, which keeps the best of your favorite Cajun traditions and adds a new school twist. At the bar, enjoy both traditional New Orleans style cocktails, such as the Sazerac or the Pimm's Cup, as well as modern cocktails like the B Line and Amelia Earhart. All Day Summer Happy Hours | 11AM - 6PM 1/2 Off All Brews & Wines By The Glass Happiest of Hours | 3:30PM - 6PM 1/2 Off All Brews & Wines By The Glass + $5 Small Plates
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This sophisticated eatery dedicated to the memory of Louisiana politician Huey Long is a delight.
We had drinks at the wonderful bar, served by Jessica and friends and loved every minute. Still awaiting their ice-crushing machine, a large wooded mallet had to do and we laughed and had a blast with the crew, The drinks are inventive, atmosphere fun and staff just great. I enjoyed a lovely lunch of barbecued pulled pork and the special Blueberry Hill cocktail with blueberry vodka, lemon and sugar. My companions tried the Pimms Cup and Absinthe Suisse...terrific! Later, we returned for one of our best NOLA dinners ever - fresh seafood, smoked andouille, and my favorite, barbecued shrimp served in a sweet potato waffle. Great food and service. Right in the heart of the Quarter. Loved it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fayjacobsrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed our bar festivities so much!!! The mallet is something we use for guests to see and be involved in our methodology of producing our handcrafted cocktails. We love the picture of Jaime crushing ice. It means a lot ot the staff at Kingfish when we receive such positive feedback to share with them. We will make sure to show Jaime and the other bartenders your review.

Thank you,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R : 504-598-5005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    245
    93
    42
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Unbelievably welcoming”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

On our recent trip, my wife and I were looking for a drink after a long day of walking. We happened upon Kingfish and settled into their long bar. The bartender immediately welcomed us into his world. He got others at the bar talking with each other and immediately you felt as though you were back home at your favorite restaurant. We liked it so much we went back the next day for lunch and drinks. What a repeat pleasure. I had pancetta wrapped shrimp and my wife had the ploughmans lunch of fresh pancetta and cheeses. On our next trip back to the great city of N.O. Kingfish will be. A must for us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelplannerOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
It is always a treat to get great feedback on our guest's experiences. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed the bartenders company so much. We take great pride in making sure our guests feel at home. We look forward to your return trip to Kingfish.

Thank you,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen and Cocktails
Counter by Kingfish Market and Deli
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C #: 225-907-0977
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Can't think of anything but positive things to say about Kingfish. Excellent food, wait staff and ambiance. Definitely worth the trip!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit so much!!! Thank you for the feedback. We will make sure to share with the staff and we hope to see you again soon.

SIncerely,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“This is NOLA!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Wow this place was great. The bar is hopping and staffed by one of the countries top mixologists. We had great drinks and apps in the bar. The drink menu featured locally inspired concoctions and old time favorites like Sazerac (yum) was a must try for me. My wife had the Shrimp Gaufre, sweet potato waffle pirogue (Cajun for little boat) filled with BBQ shrimp. I had the house made Andouille sausage that is smoked out back. The sausage came with two great dipping sauces. We are still arguing which app was the best. It was all crazy good. Next visit we have dinner too. I have my eye on the Pompano with lemons and pecans.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback. We are happy to hear that you got to enjoy our bar atmosphere. The shrimp gaufre is a popular dish among our guests. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish Kitchen and Cocktails
Counter by Kingfish Market and Deli
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
C #: 225-907-0977
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Food & Service”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Well known bartender was off-the-chart fun. The food was amazing, the service outstanding, and the location, across from my hotel, was perfect. If you have just a night or two, I'd eat at least once at Kingfish.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfishGM, General Manager at Kingfish, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We appreciate the review. The bartender is Chris McMillian, and he is one of the iconic figures in the New Orleans bartending community. We are glad that you got to experience his cocktails. We hope to see you again in the future.

Thank you,

Shad Stearns
General Manager
Kingfish
337 Chartres St.
New Orleans, LA 70130
R #: 504-598-5005
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfish also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Kingfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing