We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended”

A Bicycle Named Desire
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cruise New Orleans on our fleet of cool riding Rental Bikes. We give you smooth looking Cruisers, baskets, a bell to bing, and even a flashy light if you are planning to bike at night. Add in a bunch of ideas to help plan your route; whether your New Orleans visit will be about eating, drinking, music, shopping, photography or even exercise, we will point you in good directions. We do not just want to rent you bikes, we want to be your biking in New Orleans concierge. We give you the tools, you go have fun, and we offer rates and service that can’t be beat here. Cruiser Rentals by the day, overnight, or week…just let us know what you want and we will take care of you. Our small fleet of Stella’s, Stanley’s, and Blanches await. Our shop is at 632 Elysian Fields, the home of the Kowalski’s in a Streetcar Named Desire; stop by.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We recently hired two bikes from A Bicycle Named Desire for use after the Ninth Ward Rebirth Bike Tour which we’d also booked though their sister company. All prior emails correspondence with Cassady had been really helpful and once we arrived we were greeted by a cheerful Cassady and the bikes set up outside the shop ready to go. The bikes were sixthreezero cruisers and were great and easy to ride.

We were issued with lights, lock and a helmet and the bike also had a basket attached to the front. Cassady provided us with a map and business cards just in case we encountered any problems (which we didn't) and pointed out places of interest that we might wish to visit before returning the bikes the next day.

During the 24 hours we rented the bikes we travelled throughout New Orleans from one side to the other and it is definitely the best way to get around.

For anyone visiting New Orleans I would definitely suggest hiring a bicycle and would have no hesitation recommending A Bicycle Named Desire.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gljidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“When in Rome, Do What the Romans Do! Ride the NOLA Cruiser Bikes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife Deb booked this 3-hour bike tour on-line, which left from Washington Park just a couple blocks from our Bed & Breakfast at the very quiet end of Bourbon Street, just outside the French quarter. When we arrived, the old-fashioned cruiser bikes were lined up, and Cassady Cooper greeted us with great charm and animation. The cruisers had baskets with a bottle of water with their signature cup holder and coaster brakes like the bikes that I rode as a pre-teen. We followed Cassady on a winding tour with plenty of stops to hear about the neighborhoods outside the French Quarter, especially Marigny and Treme; the Roman Catholic churches that are being preserved as historical landmarks; and, of course, several of NOLA's world-famous above ground cemeteries. Cassady explained the origins of the design and evolution of the neighborhoods' shotgun-style houses.

The highlight of the tour was the long-gone train station where the famous separate-but-equal U.S. Supreme Court decision, Plessy vs. Ferguson, took place, where, like Rosa Parks in Montgomery, a planned arrest generated an earlier generation's efforts to achieve civil rights. Even Deb, a civil and women's rights attorney who argued a case before the Supreme Court, did not know the story behind this case still taught in high schools across America.

For those who have watched the HBO series, "Treme," about post-Katrina New Orleans, you will recognize Cassady as another example of the hyperactive, charming, and engaging fast-talker in love with everything New Orleans, as the series portrays the character DJ Davis. Our tour was just 7 people, just right for hearing as much as possible from Cassady, a New Orleans native who really knows his city, and will take you for an incredibly interesting ride through it!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
353 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

It is a must do when in NOLA. We wanted to see a lot on our four days so the best way to see it was on two wheels. I am so glad we chose 'a bicycle named desire'. The customer service is fantastic, the bikes are great and the they allowed us to see everything we wanted whilst we were int own.

Headed to NOLA, get yourself to this place and get peddling. It's that simple.

Thanks guys for making our time in NOLA even better : - )

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Saved My Night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Great service! I was riding my personal bicycle when I had a mechanical problem. Thankfully this occurred very close to A Bicycle Named Desire and I rented a bike and was quickly on my way. Cassady was so helpful that he even let me store my broken down bike in his shop for the night. The cruiser was extremely comfortable and in great shape.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cool bikes great way to see more of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Got a couple bikes from the guys to explore NOLA, since there really are no hills this an easy way to get around. Bikes are in great shape, friendly staff to get them adjusted, provide a map, and suggestions on where to ride.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Just_Dog_Woof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Bicycle Named Desire also viewed

 

Been to A Bicycle Named Desire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing