We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great concept, but...”

Charcoal's Gourmet Burger Bar
Ranked #358 of 1,939 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Garden District
Nixa, Missouri
Level Contributor
416 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Great concept, but...”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Several bun options. Exotic house-ground meats. Unique topping options like Abita root beer caramelized onions and praline bacon. Wide variety of gourmet cheeses (which they probably pick up from Stein's Deli across the street). This place has so much promise. But $10 for a basic 1/4 lb burger, even if it is made from antelope, seems steep. That's before adding cheese or premium toppings (up to 3 "basic" toppings are included). There are chef-recommended combinations ($13-18), or you can build your own. I chose the latter (antelope on Hawaiian sweet roll w/gouda goat cheese, jalapenos, tomato, arugula, caramelized onions & praline bacon). At first, it came without the bacon or the onions. I told the server & she brought them out separately. The onions were really good--though Abita RB isn't a very strong flavor, so you don't really taste root beer in the onions. The praline bacon was more like "bacon with brown sugar on one side". I think I was expecting it to be more candied. Flavor was good though, and it added a lot to the burger. Without those things though... meh. All three of the burgers in our party were also a little overdone. Nice outdoor balcony seating with a cool view.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heywood417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    36
    27
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Valdosta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
442 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Still no sure why we came here with Stein's across the street. It seemed like a good choice at the time.....it wasn't! Go across the street to Stein's Deli. Anyway, burgers are ok but pretty expensive ($11 for the basic burger)......so, expensive burgers that taste pretty average. Go with your gut....don't do burgers in New Orleans!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Walk a Few Blocks Down for Better Food”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Normally wouldn't go for a burger in New Orleans but we were starving and this restaurant was across the street.

I ordered a veggie burger and was served a venison burger. I could have corrected them but didn't bother. I am not a vegetarian, just didn't want all that meat in my gut when walking around Magazine Street in the heat.

The burger wasn't really that great.

If you absolutely must have a burger, there is a Burger King not too far away on St. Charles. It will be just as good (if not better) and much cheaper. Otherwise, there are better restaurants with more variety a few blocks down Magazine Street.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WpgMBMatlock_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
250 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“They just can't figure out the ordering/take out system.”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Solid burger. great sweet potato tots.

But they should have a separate area for to go orders. Because people build burgers it takes forever while you're in line. This is especially frustrating when you are waiting for a to go order and you have to stand in line, behind people that are taking their time building a burger.

They must work this out or they will not have success.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank localyokel1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Meh burgers”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The latest craze in New Orleans, and I guess all over the country, is the upscaling of traditional American cuisine. Gourmet burger and Hot Dog joints are popping up all over the New Orleans area, and Charcoal is one of the newest and most ambitious in the New Orleans area. Located on the corner of Jackson Avenue and Magazine, Charcoal sits in a flashy new building that took over 6 months to erect, with the kitchen and take-out located on the first floor, and the bar and dining areas on the second. The atmosphere is cool and hip, and outside balcony seating is available.
Now to the food. The menu allows for choice of house-made bun, choice of meats (traditional ground, turkey, Kobe among choices), then a wide variety of complimentary and premium toppings. Service tends to be a tad pokey, and on both occasions, it took 25 minutes or more to actually get food. The burgers are a tad small for the price, and the lack of other menu items (how bout a salad?) left me slighly hungry at the end of my meal. Burgers were tasty on both trips, but made me wish we had opted for Zea's instead.
Nice beer selection, decent wine by the glass selection was available, and highly encouraged by the waitstaff. On both trips, cost of two burgers, 1 order onion rings, 3 beers or lasses of wine, tax and ti was between $65 and $75.
I'm gonna try somewhere else next time I get a burger itch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saintsfan23_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charcoal's Gourmet Burger Bar also viewed

 

Been to Charcoal's Gourmet Burger Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing