We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Crawfish and fun atmosphere!”

Three Legged Dog Tavern
Ranked #540 of 2,156 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Bar
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Reviewed June 28, 2018 via mobile

This place is a real gem, bringing their crawfish out during season daily at 6pm. It's got a great atmosphere, with a full bar and is usually busy with diners all getting stuck into the fun that is a crawfish boil. Their flavours are spot on and one portion can easily feed 3 or more people, as it comes with corn and sausage etc. It is s great place to go with friends, grab a beer and get your hands messy with crawfish. What is great is that it is hidden away from the madness of the rest of the French Quarter so you still get plenty of locals coming for a bite and a drink!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank hcurrey07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 78 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

Read the reviews about the great dive bar.... we didn’t see it! Walked in a 4 in a Monday, sat for 10 min with no service or even an acknowledgement. So we left. Not recommended!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 405drum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018

It's close to Bourbon Street (two short blocks) and a nice little side stop if visiting the Mardi Gras Costume Museum across the street, corner location, friendly staff, cozy, couple of big screens and they have a terrific craw-fish boil worth the purchase.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank thaddt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018

We heard about this place and wanted to go so my wife and I walked over from our hotel. Great location in the French Quarter, but away from the crazies on Bourbon St.

When you think of a "dive bar", this is definitely it. Drinks served in plastic cups and crawfish in a styrofoam container. On a daily basis, they steam up the crawfish at 6 PM and you pay $16 to fill up a styrofoam container to the max. Definitely our favorite meal in NOLA. It is just full of flavor and the has the perfect mix of spices.

Service was great and the staff were extremely friendly. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who visits the city.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dain K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018

This little tavern was right around the corner from my hotel so I stopped in for a takeout lunch. Initial impression was holy smokes, this place is not clean at all. There were some folks lounging and a man cussing and yelling about losing his cell phone. Very creepy vibe. I ordered a grilled cheese and tacos, which were very mediocre at best. I guess the crawfish is the only redeeming feature of this establishment.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank koe60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Legged Dog Tavern also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Three Legged Dog Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing