We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend Takeout”
Review of Origami

Origami
Ranked #679 of 1,947 Restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: Sushi
Neighborhood: Uptown / Carrollton
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Uptown / Carrollton
msy
Level Contributor
71 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Recommend Takeout”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

It's a typical sushi joint in New Orleans so the food is pretty good. The service can be a bit bizarre and slow so I recommend take out. For the area I think they do a really good job and it's party of the Freret St food scene!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sjb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
352 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great sushi, ambiance a bit sad.”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We had some the best sushi we've had in town here (twice), but the chefs at the bar are a bit of a downer. They seem actually sad. It brings the atmosphere down. I hope they can move past that and take their rightful place in New Orleans sushi rankings!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rigel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great sushi for a surprisingly great price”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Filled up on sushi here for not that much money! Spent about $60 for 3 people. The speciality rolls were HUGE and they came with 8 instead of the usual 6. Try the mystery roll it's fantastic! Also the lunch special is great. You get 3 speciality roll orders for about $12 (only certain ones apply). GO HERE IT'S GREAT

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krellyhamnom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Soft Shell Crab Po-Boy in Town”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

That is right- I did say softshell crab in a sushi restaurant. Origami that serves outstanding sushi
(my favorites are the funky maragarita, burning man and rainbow) is serving vietnamese specials for lunch. The softshell crab po boy is a large softshell tempura fried on a soft french bread dressed with cabbage, carrots, cilantro and Vietnamese sauces. This is the freshest most delicious soft shell po-boy you will ever taste! I like to add a dash of sriracha to my bite. On their dinner appetizer menu they offer a jalapeno stuffed with crab or spicy tuna- a must for a group table. We love this place-the owner is so sweet and so are the servers. My 8 year old son requests this place for dinner- his favorites are the firecracker and crawfish roll, and my daughter's are the gyoza and udon soups. Kudos to the chef for coming up with the incredible poboy- Cant wait to eat the next one before the season is up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nolareview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agouraï, Meknes, Morocco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Town”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Origami Japanese Sushi restaurant is the best in New Orleans.
Their new soft shell crab po-boy on the lunch menu is so delicious and so very different from the usual soft shell crab sandwich.
Everything at Origami is so fresh. If you're new to sushi, you can't go wrong here. And if you're a sushi enthusiast you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Origami also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Origami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing