We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Craft Cocktail”
Review of Victory

Victory
Ranked #403 of 1,947 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Pizza, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Nestled in the heart of Downtown New Orleans lies the city's most eclectic and unique place for pleasant conversation, an array of delectable morsels and an impeccably prepared cocktail. The spirit of Victory is in its team's pledge to preserve the elegance of a past era when cocktails were fashioned with pride and artistry. With a tremendous selection of spirits, a variety of house-made syrups and a talented crew with a relentless streak of creativity, cocktails here never disappoint. Here you are not a customer, but our guest of honor.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Craft Cocktail”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a casual and relaxing place to enjoy a creative cocktail. The mixologist is wonderful and answered all of my questions regarding the cocktails on the menu. The décor is modern and inviting as well. There is not too much noise either so it is a nice place to enjoy a cocktail after work. Victory is located conveniently in the Central Business District. I love the Little Boy Blue.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica_BV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    15
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Go for the drinks”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I loved the creative pours here, especially the so-pho-king good, which it was. Using a pho-infused syrup, the mixologist has created a delicious drink with the flavors of pho. Kudos! The small plates were generally not a highlight, but I did enjoy the ceviche in particular.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank elisa n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shut the front door!!!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

As always came to NOLA on a journey to eat my way through the city and gorge on bugs, gumbo and étouffée, but was instead blown away by this perfect gem of cocktail heaven. No party drunken mayhem here. Casual, inviting, upscale (without the stuffiness and pretention) and the most imaginative, creative and delicious cocktails I've ever tasted. These guys know what they're doing and it's clear they pride themselves on their creations. You won't find a blender, drink machine or sweet and sour mix here. Drinks are made to order with fresh natural ingredients from fruits to vegetables to meats...yes you heard me, meat! Even ice is crushed by placing in a canvas bag and pounded with a wooden mallet. And of course, the most important factor, there is no skimping on the alcohol. But for that detail I would have worked my way through the entire menu.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FangandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This bar/restaurant was across the street from our hotel. They give samples of the drink special of the day to each customer. A great after work place to relax, served small plates of food, reasonable price and good staff.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cjsayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yuppy Romance Bar”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

First off, this place should be in Buckhead Atlanta and not in New Orleans. But if you want something different from your typical Cajun places, this would be about as far away from traditional NOLA as you can get. The place is decorated in a very modern style and features unique seating accomodations in the rear along with a few tables and bar stools up front. The bar is beauitfully lit and a fish tank adorns one wall. The menu is very limited and consists of upscale bar/tapas type items. The cocktail menu is extensive and features modern takes on traditional NOLA beverages as well as unique Victory creations. The restaurant was very busy when we arrived on a Friday evening and only the sofa seating in the back was available.

We ordered several cocktails and/or wine and found all of it to be well made. In particular we liked the bartenders take on Pimm's cup and Vieux Carie.

We ordered the crab dip and the spicy brussel sprouts. Both were tasty although the sprouts had a slightly mushy feel to them. Prices are a bit high for NOLA but not for this type of place if it were in Atlanta or another larger city.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rusheagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victory also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Victory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing