We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Gumbo in NOLA!”

World Famous N'awlins Cafe' and Spice Emporium
Ranked #1,183 of 1,939 Restaurants in New Orleans
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Best Gumbo in NOLA!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This place is located in the French market, and it is a gem! All of the food we ordered was amazing, and of the best we ate during our 5 day stay in NOLA. You can either eat at the bar/counter or there are tables nearby where you can eat as well. We highly recommend eating here!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DLTada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    22
    10
    10
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lynn Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nom nom”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Everything you ever wanted in a New Orleans meal. Very yummy, moderately priced, extremely nice staff, right in the center of the French Market. The take home bags even has their recipes written on them. Love it. PS buy the sausage, its wonderful at home too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eersel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow Voodoo Burger!!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Wow i had their Voodoo Burger and it was soooooo good! Never had a better burger in years!! It made me come back the other day to taste their Alligator burger and that was also very nice!! Their hot sauce might just be the best in NO.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry_de_Vos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious Gator Pie”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

WF N'awlins Cafe is located in The French Market along with lots of other tasty looking vendors. We just wanted a snack to hold us over until dinner and after looking over all the menus, we decided that we wanted to try the gator pie with a root beer. You can either get it on the go, or take a seat at the small bar they have. There were already people sitting at the bar and after ordering our food, heard the 3 guys next to us say, "This is really good. We might have to come back again tomorrow" which let me know that we had chosen the right place.
There are lots of pictures of all the famous people the owners have met, or they've eaten at the cafe. The owners son was the one who served us and all the employees there were very nice.
Our gator pie consisted of a moist and crunchy potpie/pecan pie looking dish sitting in the center of a bowl with assorted salad leaves underneath with grilled gator meat on top. It was delicious, ad one of the favorite things I ate while in New Orleans.
The prices are reasonable, and they have a large menu to choose from. I would recommend this cafe to anyone going to New Orleans.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbullockga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast - N'awlins Cafe!!!!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We lucked into the Nawlins Cafe & Spice Emporium on our last day of travel. We had been somewhat disappointed in our dining experiences for 4 days. We went for breakfast at their bar - Creole Bowl - IT WAS THE BEST!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank esstrojenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World Famous N'awlins Cafe' and Spice Emporium also viewed

 

Been to World Famous N'awlins Cafe' and Spice Emporium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing