We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream come true!!”
Review of Langlois

Langlois
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We are excited to announce our new motto for the remainder of 2016 and 2017- have roux spoon, will travel! We are exclusively offering offsite events until March 2017. With this new motto, we are taking the show on the road. Our guests are no longer restricted by the size and availability of our restaurant space, and they're not forced to decide if it is possible to squeeze one more meal into a whirlwind trip to New Orleans. We are offering our guests flexibility and choices on when, where and how they can enjoy the Langlois experience. New Orleans Culinary Entertainment - Enjoy the Show! Think of Langlois as a traveling food show - we bring the best of New Orleans cuisine and Louisiana cooking to you. Our trained chefs are storytellers, food nerds, Louisiana natives, and culinary historians who make every event memorable, fascinating, and fun. We take guests on a journey through the history and ingredients of Louisiana's unique food culture, and our demonstrations explore all of the influences in Creole and Cajun cooking, including French, Spanish, German, Italian, Native American, African, and Vietnamese cuisine. We provide culinary entertainment for groups of all sizes in your venue of choice - from private homes to the convention center to hotels and area restaurants.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A dream come true!!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was such a wonderful experience that I will never forget! Not only did we learn great techniques, but we had a blast! Chef Amy & Emily were great to answer all our questions and taught us hands on skills that we are now using at home!! I hope to go back someday to learn even more!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank OkieCarri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at Langlois, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Our job is so much fun, we had a blast too. We can't wait for your return visit, nor can we wait to hear about y'all opening a place of your own that we can visit! Thanks for your review and thanks! Chef Emily says hi. Cheers, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic afternoon with great food and amazing people”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This culinary school was open in November 2012 and is run by chef Amy Cyrex-Sins, she is the sweetest person. The School is named after madame Langlois the Mother of Creole Cooking.
Here you learn how to create New Orleans unique Creole Cuisine!!!!!!!!
Here you get the hands on experience where you can choose to watch with your glass of wine or put on your apron and join your chef in the Kitchen. I chose the later and it was most fun
our chef Jody, was perky and very informative teaching me many new techniques. This is the ony way of learning about the creole cuisine and I highly recommend it. It is a great way to spend an afternoon either on your own or with a group of friends. Wine, great food and good company. From me to you, go and enjoy the BBQ Shrimp, Sweet Potatoe bread pudding or the Cajun Boudin Tarts. Go online and check out their website www.langloisnola.com
Now I am ready to COOK

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank maria v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at Langlois, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed Chef Jodie's class; she is a great teacher. Please visit us again soon and thanks for giving your recommendation. Cheers, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great time, great food and more”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We went to Langlois during a holiday to NOLA and attended a dinner demonstration. We were welcomed by Tess (of the Roux) who gave us appertisers and a glass of wine. The evening progressed with a full dinner presentation where we were encouraged to get involved and help out. It was great fun and the food ws excellent, one thing that we didn't expect was the way that Tess was able to put the food into a historical context, she certainly knew her stuff and it added to the whole evening. Don't be put off by the fact that it is not a central French Quarter address, there is a reason for the location and it's in a safe area also it's a very low cab fare from the centre and they will book you a return cab. As we left we were given a pack of all the recepies and background information. All in all a highlight among many of the holiday. Thanks again Tess. Alan and Trish UK June 2013

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Wilkinson27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at Langlois, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad you had a great time and took the short trip to our neighborhood. Please visit us again soon- Chef Tess says hi!
Cheers, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Time!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I really enjoyed this class. It was interactive and friendly. I feel like I learned a lot about Cajun cuisine and will definitely try some at home.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RosesRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at Langlois, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. We're glad you enjoyed the class and had a great time. Have fun cooking some Louisiana favorites at home. Cheers, Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is NOT a hands on class”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is very enjoyable and the people who run it are very nice, but this is not a hands on class.
It's a cooking demonstration where one or two of the audience is asked to come up a stir a pot.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Len K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyNOLA, Owner at Langlois, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Len,

I am so sorry that you felt your class was not hands on enough and that only two people were able to stir a pot, I assure our guests that is not usual at Langlois.

Please know that is not the way we wish to do things and I am saddened that was your experience. Our goal is to get our guests to participate and get involved in the creation of the meal as much as they want. I ask that you please email us so that we can address your concerns directly.

Amy

To our future guests:

The way our class works, all of the prep is done for our guests (chopping and measuring) so that they may relax, sip their wine and prepare a meal. We invite guests to participate based on their interests in the menu but do not require participation. This allows for everyone to see the meal being created, to taste throughout the process and to interact with the chefs. Classes last 2-3 hours and include between 2-5 courses depending on the menu. In order to complete this in such a short time period and allow for guests to interact and dine together, some advanced preparation is required.

The participation our guests should expect include tasks such as sauteing, blending, mixing, whipping, roux making, frying, piping, roasting, baking, braising, pressure cooking, canning, and presentation. Our chefs review the recipes, history of the cuisine and the steps in the process of the meal creation. Guests are encouraged participate and to ask to participate if they want more. We want everyone to get involved.

Because our guests get to actively participate in the cooking process, we do consider our classes hands-on. In order to clarify for future guests, we will edit our website to reflect that guests do not get their own "individual cooking station" but do participate in a full cooking and dining experience. Our guests should never expect that only two attendees of a class get to participate.

Thanks,
The Langlois Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Langlois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing