We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Enjoyable”
Review of La Belle Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Belle Esplanade
Ranked #1 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfectly Enjoyable”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The room was just how it was shown on the website. Comfortable and well kept. The owners were very amenable to my arrival and departure time and the bikes they had available were an added bonus. I loved the location and the daily breakfasts as well as the snacks available in the room...but what I loved the most was the owner's quirkiness. Take a gander at a few of the stories posted on the inn's site and also within the house. To anyone booking a room there, enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
322
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We immensely enjoyed our stay at La Belle Esplanade over the weekend. Having visited the city many times in the past, we were delighted to find this jewel of an inn between the French Quarter and City Park. Great hospitality and suggestions for enjoying the neighborhood and city from Melanie and Matthew. Loved the fact that they lend bicycles to guests, had a great time riding around the park -don't miss the Sculpture Park at NOMA- and along the river. Spacious, clean and comfortable rooms equipped with small fridge with drinks, coffee maker, TV and toiletries. Delicious coffee and varied breakfasts. Fantastic stay, sad to leave.Thanks Melanie and Matthew!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiggylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I loved staying at La Belle Esplanade. The owners were kind, thoughtful, and informative with nice touches to the room (loved the Pralines on my pillow!). The room was so beautiful and spacious and the home was quirky and fun! It is also in a perfect location . . . close enough to the French Quarter but not too close. I cannot recommend this B&B enough and I thank other Trip Advisor reviewers for cluing me in to this gem of a place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kgallo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We loved staying here. The house itself is beautiful and unique. The neighborhood is awesome-- close enough to tourist-y stuff that you can walk, but an amazing neighborhood in its own rite and definitely worth exploring. Matt and Melanie are wonderful hosts and clearly love New Orleans. They introduced us to many local specialties at generous breakfasts every morning, and they were eager to hear what we were up to and to offer advice. They even let us use bicycles to go exploring. Staying here definitely helped make our stay in New Orleans magical. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I had a marvelous time visiting New Orleans, and staying at La Belle Esplanade was the icing on the cake! Matt and Melanie were the perfect hosts. We loved the delicious breakfast every morning and looked forward to always having a local delicacy - thanks for introducing us to the famed muffuletta! Matt and Melanie were always in the dining room giving great suggestions on site seeing...and it was nice to have local chit-chat as well. Our room in the rear of the building was spacious, colorfully decorated, and very quiet. We enjoyed having the small refrigerator in the small closet as well. The location of La Belle Esplanade couldn't have been better. It was a lovely street close to the French Quarter, but not too close. La Belle Esplanade also had comfy bicycles for use which was a great way to see the city. My husband particularly liked riding the bikes to Lake Pontchartrain and seeing City Park. Thanks Matt and Melanie for the "breakfast treats" the morning of our early departure - we appreciated it at the airport! I highly recommend La Belle Esplanade for all who visit New Orleans.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet1645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, General Manager at La Belle Esplanade, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Don't wait for another 30 years and a wedding to come back to the City that Care Forgot. You were here for a nice long stay, but there is still plenty left to discover. Cheers! M&M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Matt and Melanie were warm and welcoming, making us instantly comfortable and feeling right at home. Melanie greeted us with glasses of sweet (yummy) wine and biscotti to enjoy while Matt went over the details of New Orleans (it was our first visit). He gave us a map and spoke with us for quite awhile reviewing a plethora of local information – restaurants, things to see/do, walking tips, etc.

We first got a tour of the beautifully decorated home and yard/garden. We stayed in the Saints Suite. Our room was spacious and comfortable, nicely decorated - colorful, fun and eclectic! It had a large sitting room with TV, fully stocked fridge (no additional charge for snacks, water, wine, beer, water, etc.), coffee maker and then a separate bedroom. We had a private balcony with a table and chairs, a large private bath with claw foot tub (with the best bath towels I have ever had on any vacation anywhere!). Sink was outside the bathroom making it easier for us to both get ready at the same time.

Breakfast was fabulous! Every day they had several locally made specialties – breads, jam, sausage bacon/maple donuts (one of the best things I ate in New Orleans) and a homemade dish like muffaletta, crawfish quiche… For those picky eaters who just want Kellogg’s cereal or Greek yogurt, that is available too. We had an early tour one morning. When I mentioned that we would be missing breakfast, Melanie prepared a bag of snacks for us to take with us! Matt and Melanie sat at breakfast and chatted with everyone each morning – discovering what activities we had planned, giving advice, answering questions about area history – truly a lovely couple who make you feel like you have been friends for years. There was a newspaper available as well, for those like my husband who just want to read in the morning.

Don't let the location put you off, we found it to be excellent -it is a very safe area only a mile away from the French Quarter and close to CityPark. Quiet and peaceful (I can’t imagine trying to sleep in the French Quarter at night) on a beautiful street in a neighborhood that has great local restaurants and bars – where we had 2 of our best meals. We didn’t have a car but found the walk to the French Quarter and City Park to be lovely. The cab ride back to the hotel each evening was under $10 (about 5 minutes). We also used the complimentary bikes to get downtown, tour the nearby cemetery and ride around CityPark and its sculpture garden. They are 1 speed Huffy’s – perfect to get from point A to point B, probably not so great if you planned to do some long bike rides (although the area is pretty flat). It was nice to see more of New Orleans than just the French Quarter.

We stayed 4 nights – I feel one would be hard-pressed to find a better stay or nicer hosts elsewhere. Just an all-around great experience. We will definitely stay here again when we return! Great vacation!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adnil1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, General Manager at La Belle Esplanade, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for that very thorough review. I also read your review about Santa Fe up the street and it was spot-on. I hadn't realized you had found a place where you could eat at the bar, but you're right: it makes perfect sense. It was a pleasure to have a couple of fellow New Englanders in the house. Next time you're in town, you know where to find us. You have two friends in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

If I've stayed at a better place then I cannot remember it.....our hosts, Matthew and Melanie, greeted us with a freshly opened bottle of local wine and ensured we knew everything we needed to know about Nawlin's....The rooms are themed and we picked 'France', the decor was splendid with antique furniture and nice touches all thro' the place. Free refreshments in the room were supplied and the breakfast was a joy with a different local delicacy everyday......They even lent us some bikes to cruise around town on.....staying there was as good as it gets and they made our honeymoon just that little bit more special.x

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denhilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, General Manager at La Belle Esplanade, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We're glad you found us on your musical honeymoon tour. Thanks to you we know who Barbara Hepworth it. I think about that every time I see her sculpture at the Art Museum. Remember: we are also an ideal destination for anniversaries, of which we're sure you'll have many. We hope to see again, M&M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
512 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
7,112 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 138 in New Orleans
749 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 138 in New Orleans
170 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Belle Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Belle Esplanade

Property: La Belle Esplanade
Address: 2216 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most interesting place to stay in America's most interesting city. Visit New Orleans like you belong here. Located in a picturesque neighborhood that is close to everything but off the usual tourist radar, La Belle Esplanade will surprise and delight with it's quirky authentic details, locally sources breakfasts, and lively conversation. You have at least two friends in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your La Belle Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing