We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Belle Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Belle Esplanade
Ranked #2 of 137 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Initially I was a little nervous about the neighborhood, but once we settled in I really enjoyed not being in a touristy part of town. We were about a 10-15 minute walk to the edge of the French Quarter.

Our room was really lovely and very comfortable. The breakfast offered a diverse number of options. No complaints!

What really made the whole experience though was our hosts, Matthew and Melanie. They offered very interesting commentary and insider information. We really enjoyed chatting with them. This was our first time to visit New Orleans and they really enriched the experience and our appreciation for the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizdemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
309
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Loved this place, these hosts. Our family stayed in the Clio Suite in March. Agree with every single good thing said by past reviewers. Matthew and Melanie were so helpful about every question we had, such interesting hosts, but we did not feel we had to entertain them which I have sometimes felt at B & Bs. It was a beautiful and funky place with interesting art, incredible decor (elegant and fun), comfy beds, enormous windows that work, fantastic food sourced from several local vendors (try the jams! the crawfish pie!!), great books -- local reference to comic, plenty of hot water, private balconies, a wonderful garden space with lots of gated parking (but for sure who needs a car!), and BICYCLES we all three borrowed to sail around the city! At night, when we were plum worn out, the fridge was stocked with cool and unique beverages, treats on the pillow... A real find!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remy972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights here. I can not say enough about this place. Our room was full of gorgeous antique furniture and our refrigerator was stocked with all kinds off goodies like wines other local delights. Mathew and Melanie are wonderful hosts. They serve local food from some of the shops nearby. During breakfast they love to hear about your adventures and try to help with any questions you might have about New Orleans. You can not get this kind of service at a hotel! We did not drive our car the whole time we were their. It was a short walk down Espalande to the French Quarter and if you walk up Espalande that is a short walk the the city park. If you are considering going to New Orleans you can't go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpotter87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our stay in The Clio Suite was wonderful. Upon arrival we were greeted by Matthew . His love of the bed and breakfast as well as New Orleans was so apparent. He shared his knowledge, when asked, as to where to go during our stay. Melanie prepared delicious breakfasts with an emphasis on local delecacies. Our room was filled with incredible antiques and the frig stocked with wine, juices and water. We hope to return someday to enjoy the experience again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from a 3 night stay at La Belle Esplanade in New Orleans. I can not say enough wonderful things about our stay! Our hosts, Melanie and Matthew were so charming and so helpful. They suggested off the beaten path experiences like the Back Street Cultural Center in Treme. The accommodations were perfect. The Inn is an old New Orleans house that they have very carefully decorated to keep the Nawlins charm, with modern day conveniences. The location is wonderful, equidistant from the french quarter and city park. We were so sad to leave! We will definitely be returning to La Belle Esplanade in one of the greatest cities in the world!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyNYC10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I can only agree with the other reviews - great!

In New Orleans for a week to get the feel of the city, this traditional residence was the perfect base - well-priced for a suite, nicely furnished, excellent varied breakfasts & ridiculously high ceilings. The location in The Esplanade is in easy range of the French Quarter and Frenchman Street and surprisingly relaxed for being so central.

Melanie and Melanie were indeed very good hosts - both appearing each morning to make sure breakfast went smoothly and providing company that was knowledgeable and genuine.

I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShackTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay at La Belle Esplanade. We stayed in the Pelican Suite which was quite charming! The bed, although smaller than we are used to, was very comfortable and the two room suite was gorgeous, with beautiful antiques, and a great balcony for enjoying coffee in the morning.
Chatting with your hosts and other guests over breakfast was a great way to start the day and pick up additional sight seeing tips.
We toured the sculpture gardens and botanical gardens in City Park at Matthews suggestion and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.
We love B & B's in general and La Belle Esplanade ranks as one of our favorites, which is saying quite a bit.
We are already planning a return trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,011 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,910 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 137 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Belle Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Belle Esplanade

Property: La Belle Esplanade
Address: 2216 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1890s manor with private balconies located between the French Quarter and City Park. Every room is a different color and furnished with period antiques, original local artwork, and modern accents. Breakfast comes from local farmers, bakeries and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your La Belle Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing