We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better”
Review of La Belle Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Belle Esplanade
Ranked #1 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I can't think of enough good things to say about this beautiful bed and breakfast. From the moment my husband and I arrived, Matthew and Melanie made us feel completely welcome and at home (a big deal for me, as I'm somewhat shy around new people). Neither of us had ever been to New Orleans, and Matthew and Melanie gave us fantastic suggestions for things to do and places to eat outside the French Quarter and off the beaten path. We tried to do everything they suggested, as we quickly discovered how great their recommendations were. Matthew and Melanie are clearly and infectiously passionate about New Orleans. Thanks to them, by the time we left we felt like we had a great sense of the city. The rooms are all charming and elegant and filled with local artwork and character. We stayed in the La France suite, which was perfect for us (this was also a big deal: I was writing a paper, and so spent more time in the room than I might usually. I was always comfortable and happy to be there). We also borrowed two bikes and spent a fantastic day cruising through the garden district. Breakfast every morning was a feast of delicious, fresh local foods, including some dwarf oranges from their own garden. It reminded me of the breakfasts my husband and I had on our honeymoon in France. Even better than the food, however, was the conversation, and the very best part of our stay was our leisurely chats with Matthew and Melanie every morning. We can't wait to come back. Thanks for everything! -Haylie and Ross

P.S. A word about the location: Some people have commented that Esplanade Ave. doesn't seem safe. That's ridiculous. We always felt totally secure and really appreciated staying in a real New Orleans neighborhood steeped in history.

Room Tip: Matthew showed us all the rooms, and they're all fantastic. We loved the La France suite. The Pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haylie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 505 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

Do you want to experience New Orleans like a local? Are you sick of big chain hotels and corny walking tours of the French Quarter? Matthew and Melanie will treat you like family, and like good family, let you in on all of the secrets New Orleans has to offer. I am a New Orleans expat who was back visiting friends for a long weekend, and I was amazed at how truly interested they were in sharing the special place that is New Orleans with anyone who enters their home.

And speaking of, Matthew and Melanie don't just run a B&B, they run a home. La Belle Esplanade is a Creole beauty of a home, wonderfully and locally decorated. They take pride in displaying the local culture, and the accomodations were always immaculately clean and tended to. They truly enjoyed chatting over a breakfast overflowing with local fruits, vegetables, and foods. Their attention to detail is obvious everywhere, from local jams at breakfast, pralines on your pillow, local beer in the fridge, and bicycles for you to experience New Orleans like a local. They are happy to give you the inside scoop on where to go for a local dinner or where to catch the second line and dance your tail off on a Sunday afternoon.

The room was beautiful, spacious and comfortable, just as amenable to spending a relaxing afternoon on your private porch with a cup of coffee as hitting the town. In all my travels back to New Orleans, I have never felt so at home (aside from sleeping on a friend's couch) as I did at La Belle Esplanade.

When my friends ask me where to stay in New Orleans and what to see, I recommend no place more than La Belle Esplanade, and Matthew and Melanie will help you with any and everything you need. I look forward to staying there next time I go back to my fair city.

A bientôt,
Andy

Room Tip: Les Fleurs suite is large, spacious, and charming. Wonderful claw foot bath tub (with it's own q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy_R191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This delightful B&B has only been open for business for a few short months, but rest assured, it is a great place to stay. We stumbled on it checking through New Orleans accommodation websites, it met all of our needs so we booked and were not disappointed.

Matthew and Melanie are charming hosts, proividing valuable driving instructions for our trip from Florida, and lots of excellent tips for things to do in and around New Orleans. The property is nicely situated on Esplanade Avenue, one of the grand old streets of New Orleans and only walking distance to the French Quarter. In the opposite direction it is walking distance to City Park, the Art Museum and the Sculpture Garden which is a nice place to spend some time on a warm NOLA day.

There is always parking available out front but secure off-street parking is also available at the rear. The rooms are all different, interesting and furnished with antiques, which you can check out via their excellent website, and the breakfasts were all great with different pastries and delicacies purchased fresh daily from nearby establishments.

There are also several casual dining opportunities nearby and all were busy which is a good sign. At Matthew and Melanie's recommendation we celebrated our 45th wedding anniversary at the Palm Court Jazz Bar and Restaurant and had a memorable evening.

In summary, a deightful place which we have no hesitation in recommending.

Room Tip: Just go onto the website and check for yourselves. It is an old and nicely restored building with s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, Owner at La Belle Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Rolando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, Owner at La Belle Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank queen-of-freckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, Owner at La Belle Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew K, Owner at La Belle Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,339 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
775 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 141 in New Orleans
947 reviews
Garden District
Green House Inn
Green House Inn
#11 of 141 in New Orleans
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Belle Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Belle Esplanade

Address: 2216 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70119-2606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $166 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most interesting place to stay in America's most interesting city. Visit New Orleans like you belong here. Located in a picturesque neighborhood that is close to everything but off the usual tourist radar, La Belle Esplanade will surprise and delight with it's quirky authentic details, locally sourced breakfasts, and lively intelligent conversation. You have at least two friends in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your La Belle Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing