We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely Hotel and Wonderful Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maison de Ville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Maison de Ville
Ranked #75 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and Wonderful Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed here for a friend's wedding and booked a few of the rooms. The staff here was absolutely lovely and helpful, including the resident cat Katrina! We had a wonderful experience here and would highly recommend it. Very charming hotel in the perfect location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Azy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    15
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
13
64
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Very historic place, in the heart of the French Quarter with a friendly and welcoming staff specially Cat Trina:)
We love that we have the best of the two worlds the lively streets and the quietness of the private court yard.
Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nrisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Stay in the Tennessee Williams suite! Little pricier but worth the extra room and updates. Right off the courtyard. We were the only guests there that week so we had full reign of the courtyard. Staff was so nice! As was Trina, their cat :) Great location too, we would definitely return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
204 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I love the New Orleans Jazz Festival and this is my hotel of choice. (It's too bad they were closed for so long due to the hurricane.) Just off of Bourbon, the location is within walking distance of great restaurants, jazz clubs, etc.

While there are cheaper alternatives, nothing compares to the charm and service of the Maison de Ville. I learned of this place by reading Charles Kuralt's book of his favorite places.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Our stay at Hotel Maison de Ville this past fall was perfect. The hotel staff was amazing and the hotel was magnificent, with beautiful rooms. We stayed in the Tennessee Williams suite, which had wonderful accommodations and was ADA accessible. My friend, who is in a wheelchair had no problem navigating around this suite and we also loved the courtyard, which was very relaxing and lent itself to the overall charm of the hotel. We would highly recommend this special place and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood River, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Maison de Ville Thursday through Sunday. We would highly recommend staying at this hotel. This is the only hotel we will stay at in New Orleans in the future. We had been to New Orleans before and had stayed at a high rise hotel downtown and were not impressed being so far away from the action. The Hotel Maison de Ville is right in the middle of the action no matter what you are looking for. The hotel is a half block from Bourbon Street (the main action), half a block from Royal Street (arts and cultural street), and a short walk to several of the best restaurants in the French Quarter. The hotel staff was very friendly and very knowledgeable about things going on in the French Quarter. The room was amazing, old Louisiana look and charm with all the modern conveniences, while being very clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony overlooking the street with views of Bourbon Street as well. Each room comes with its own unique hand-crafted Voodoo doll that welcomes you back to your room! The rest of the hotel was beautiful as well. The hotel has an outdoor courtyard with candlelight and fountains, very romantic! Just off the lobby, the hotel has a snack room with FREE pop, candy bars and other snacks available 24 hours a day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianBangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My stay at Maison De Ville was very pleasant. This hotel is very romantic and full of history. My beautiful room was very clean and comfortable. It had access to the balcony and I also spent a lot of time relaxing on the courtyard around the fountain. This historic hotel is also in a great location near some of the best restaurants in the French Quarter. You couldn't tell you were so close to Bourbon Street because it's very quiet and peaceful. The friendly staff was very helpful and gave me a lot of good tips. I recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning a trip to New Orleans and is looking for a warmer atmosphere. I didn’t want to leave, and I’ll sure be back one day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#37 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,047 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#3 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,428 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,692 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maison de Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maison de Ville

Property: Hotel Maison de Ville
Address: 727 Rue Toulouse, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maison de Ville, whose name in French means “Town House”, was just that. A two- storied dwelling rebuilt by Jean Baptista Lilie Sarpy around 1800 after the second disastrous fire.Across the picturesque courtyard with its cast-iron three-tiered fountain are two additional buildings. The historic former slave quarters are believed to have been constructed as early as 1762 and are one of the oldest structures in the State. Also off the courtyard is the old carriage house, now a charming two-story suite.An early resident of the home was Antoine Amede Peychaud, an apothecary who developed a concoction of bitters and brandy, known as the Sazerac. No doubt Peychaud’s circle of friends and patients widened as the popularity and fame of this first “cocktail” spread. In many Creole homes of the time the first floor was used for commercial purposes, as a store or office, but we know that Peychaud maintained his pharmacy on nearby Royal Street. Today, Peychaud’s bitters are still used to make the official cocktail of the State of Louisiana- the Sazerac.Before he purchased his own house in the French Quarter Tennessee Williams often stayed in room number 9, where he completed “A Streetcar Named Desire” and drank Sazeracs in the hotel courtyard. The room opens onto the patio, and much of Dick Cavett’s 1974 interview with Williams was filmed there, surrounded by the lush semi-tropical greenery and flowers the playwright enjoyed.Among the contemporary guests of note at the hotel: Elizabeth Taylor, Dan Akroyd, Robert Redford, Michael Jackson, Julia Roberts and many others.Hotel Maison de Ville is proud to be part of New Orleans’ historic past and present. Our buildings are over two and a half centuries old. Our endeavors of maintenance and upkeep are focused on keeping them in their original condition as much as ‘historically possible’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Maison de Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing