We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun and fresh in the garden district” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District
Ranked #71 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fun and fresh in the garden district”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My son and I were driving him back to Austin Texas for the next semester at UT. Coming from Orlando we knew we would have a long drive to New Orleans and need a quiet hotel. But I needed a trip to NO and some live music not a interstate motel. I spent a week looking for the right hotel in the right location for a fair price. Hotel Indigo filled most of my requirements such as 2 queen beds, valet parking, morning breakfast and location in the Garden District. The hotel was easy to access from I10 and right on the St Charles trolley system. We found the staff very friendly and efficient. I did have to show my confirmation as they tried to charge $20 over my reservation quote, but on showing the print ed confirmation the correct price was established. Room was spacious and had a nice bathroom. I found the lobby bar fun and well stocked. Highlight was the very friendly and talented bartender. We shared recipes and stories for some time and because it was early she was not busy and provided me a pleasant time to relax after our drive from Orlando. My only negative was not the hotels fault as the trolleys were not running here as the tracks were being torn up and new base was being replaced. This eliminated going to other areas of New Orleans but we gained more time in the Garden District and its beautiful old homes. I found the beds a bit soft and hallway noise can be heard especially when late night guests stumble up the hallways. Other than than that we had a good experience and I look forward to a return. This hotel attempts a different, more contemporary design, than the traditional antique fixture style of most of the other quality hotels in New Orleans and we enjoyed the look.

Room Tip: Has rooms large enough for 2 queens. King rooms would be very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    147
    45
    16
    16
See reviews for
107
154
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My husband and I were traveling by car from Miami to Texas and booked a stay at this hotel to stop and rest. Our travel time took longer than expected and didn't check in until after 12am. Coming in exhausted as we were from driving we still came in with a smile but we were not welcomed with friendly faces from the two front desk attendants. They were far from courteous & made it seem like we were bothering them after 12am. We had our small Pomeranian with us & had to pay an additional $50 for him for ONE night, complete rip off. I called the front desk in the morning asking if room service could deliver us 1 disposable toothbrush and she basically told me I can come down and get it myself. And to top it off there weren't enough towels supplied. The atmosphere at checkout was pretty much the same. The only good thing about this hotel is the room decor. Not worth the money, at all.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allyson1543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Allyson1543,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am very disappointed that you were not satisfied with your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service. I apologize for the unsatisfactory service you received at the front office. I sincerely hope this incident will not deter from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to provide outstanding hotel stay experience to all our guests.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel after reading TA reviews for a last minute Birthday getaway. We were greeted by very friendly valet and desk staff who quickly got us checked in and sorted in room 919.

The desk agent made several recommendations for dinner and we took his advice and made reservations for Mr. Johns Steakhouse just down the block. What a fabulous meal!

Excellent staff again the next morning at breakfast and checkout. Can't say enough about how pleasant everyone was; these folks enjoy their jobs and it really shows.

Beautiful and clean accommodations right in the middle of the Garden District! The only downer was the construction on the St. Charles rail line but the staff helped out again by calling us a cab to take us over to the French Quarter to meet up with friends.

Awesome time and wouldn't hesitate to book again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RealtorK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Indigo is so charming x provided me x my family with 5 star treatment.

The check in was easy x fast! The initially have us the wrong room but immediately corrected x upgraded us! They even moved our stuff. The rooms are spacious, clean, and beautifully decorated. They also provides by request a fridge x blow up mattress for no cost.

They staff are a true class act, so polite x accommodating. I felt as I was visiting family.

We are dinner at the hotel which was one of the downsides.. Although he food was great the wait time x dinner server was the worst. His follow up to the table was infrequent x he did not communicate the extended wait time. I could understand if it was lots of people but it was 3/4 servers to about 7-10 ppl in the dining so a appetizer or Cesar salad shouldn't take 35+ mins. Breakfast was totally different food was fast x servers friendlier.

The gym was 24 hours x is efficient. The other plus was how the staff accommodate kids. They have free toys to kids at breakfast x allowed kids to babysit their resident fish! It was so cute! I did wish they had a pool!

Parking took forever but the valet open doors for all x asked if we need direction to anywhere. They didn't unload your car considering it cost $34 they should.

Overall the hotel indigo will be a top choice when I returned to NOLA. Although a boutique hotel it can compare with 4/5 diamond hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank According2Kilbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed here for a family trip and were given an excellent corner room, so I am not certain if all the rooms were as large as ours. The shower was roomy and the fixtures in the bathroom were quality. The staff was nice, and contrary to some reviewers we had no issues with the valet service - just call about 10-15 minutes before you need your car. We did not do breakfast as there was not really a hopping scene there for the food - but right across the street we found a place that does eggs / sausage/ bacon sandwiches for like $3 and they were delicious. Cool part of NOLA, but the St. Charles trolley line is under construction in front of the hotel, so you need to take a shuttle bus down about a mile. From the pace of the workers we saw (some were sleeping in their construction vehicles) - this construction is likely going to take a long time!

Room Tip: We had a corner room - it was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maynard_Marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I stayed for 3 nights while in town for a girls weekend. The hotel was clean and the staff were the perfect example of southern hospitality. The streetcars and buses made it easy to explore the rest of the city! I definitely recommend staying here!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenville, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I have always stayed closer to the French Quarter when visiting New Orleans. Never Again! Our most recent visit we stayed at the Hotel Indigo in the Garden District. It was a luxury hotel at a very affordable price. The staff was superb and made us feel like royalty! The location was very close to everything and had a wonderful bar in the lobby. We will stay here for all future visits!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GretchenandDaryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#94 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#48 of 161 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Plaza Resort
#62 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 614 reviews
Garden District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#74 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District

Property: Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District
Address: 2203 St Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing