We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, terrible service, rude and snobby girl at the desk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District
Ranked #78 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
TULSA OKLAHOMA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice room, terrible service, rude and snobby girl at the desk”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Our flight was canceled going into New Orleans due to weather. I called the hotel and the man I spoke with was nice and accomodating. I told him I wanted to cancel Friday night, but add Sunday night, so we'd still have a two night stay. We arrived at the hotel and the girl at the front desk said she couldn't find our reservation. She actually asked if we were sure we were supposed to be in New Orleans, and not jokingly. I gave her the number and she pulled it up. We got to our room and the faucet in the bathroom was loose and not working properly. We called the front desk and asked if we could just move into another room. "No, but it's a quick fix, I'll send someone right up" No appology and a snobby attitude. 30 minutes later the guy arrived. 30 minutes later he was still working on it. We left to go eat. The next morning we noticed the only coffee in the room was decaf so again a phone call to the same girl, this was about 7am. Again, 30 minutes later, no coffee, so we decided to just go have breakfast, but stopped at the desk to let her know that no one had brought the coffee. She said in a very adjitated voice, "room service doesn't get here until 8" my wife reminded her that she had told us she'd bring it right up. "THEY DON'T COME IN UNTIL 8". That afternoon we called the desk again, could we have some toilette paper? "I'll send it right up" again, 30 minutes later, no paper. Another call, new girl at the desk, "I'm so sorry, I'll bring it now" and she did. That was the only apology we got our entire stay. Whoever the girl is who works the weekends, is terrible and made our stay, not so nice. I've had better service from a $40 per night hotel, this was almost $300 per night. Stay somewhere else, if you're staying on the weekend.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else if it's on a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOLDWINGING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District. I am sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with one of our employees. We always strive to make sure every guest has a great experience and it does not sound like you received this standard of service. If you would like to discuss this issue further please feel free to contact me at catie.mustacato@interstatehotels.com. Thank you again for you comments and we hope that you will stay with us again on another visit to New Orleans so that we can make sure you have an excellent experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    173
    58
    19
    17
See reviews for
129
185
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed at Hotel Indigo this past weekend. Arrived early and was able to check in without any issues. Friendly Staff. Hotel maybe recently renovated (?) everything looked new, wood tiles, spa like bathroom, spacious and clean. I do miss the shower..took notes to remodel our bathroom in the future. Aveeno bath products, iron/.ironing board and blow-dryer in every room. Restaurants in walking distance, enjoyed a delicious bagel sandwich from a bagel joint two blocks away. The Trolley stops right in front of the hotel . $1,25 for the ride $3.00 for a whole day pass, Trolley runs 24 hours so you can use the pass all day & night. Last stop on Trolley is Canal Street. (French Quarter) -- To take the trolley back to the hotel wait in front of the Kids Foot locker in the corner of Canal Street (732 Canal St)

Hotel only serves breakfast and dinner but that is not a loss because the food is not great.The breakfast (eggs, potatoes, toast etc) was okay. I also ordered the Chicken Quesadilla which was not good. They do have a grab and go fridge, with drinks and sandwiches (but those did not look to appealing) but it was convenient to grab chips or a drink if you needed something to hold you over. The best thing i had at the Hotel restaurant was the Cafe Latte (Very good). Stick to the surrounding areas for food, it's what New Orleans is all about anyway! Besides the music and art.... Amazing Cuisine.

Conclusion: Great Location, Great room, Very Chic decor all through out the Hotel, Friendly staff, easy access to local Restaurants and the French Quarter.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick-Maddie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us at the Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to utilize the convenient streetcar stop directly in front of the hotel. We hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Great little hotel, chic décor and bar with view for those who like to people-watch. Staff was friendly, food from restaurant was good. Creamy pralines were delicious! Shower was our absolute favorite though!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank astareae123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Took my daughter to New Orleans to celebrate her 21 st birthday. Booked this hotel stay as a package through Book It..We had a great time. Hotel Indigo is in a great location. We used the street car which stops right out front daily..We enjoyed a few of the resturants near the hotel. We booked tours and cab rides trough the front desk. They were always very helpful. We enjoyed the resturant once for diner and once for a night cap. We also had room service for breakfast and each time our meals and service was excellent. Keith a server was so pleasant and was like a old friend he gave us lots of great tips to enjoy our trip..The only thing they could improve on is housekeeping. We stayed 3 days and all the did was pretty much make the beds. Hopefully they make changes in that area. We def will recommend hotel indiago

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We did a daddy/daughter trip to New Orleans as my daughter (10 yrs old) loves all the history and the stories that come along the city. We obviously weren't in for a French Quarter/Bourbon Street trip so we wanted a quiet place on St. Charles/Garden District and this hotel fit the bill perfectly. We decided we weren't going to rent a car and were going to ride trolley cars and busses everywhere, and the location of this hotel was perfect. We walked to Commander's Palace, the cemetery, and Magazine Street.

The room was much larger than expected for an old, classic property. Beautiful modern finishes with a touch of NO charm, beautiful bathroom. My daughter thought it was the nicest room we had stayed in, and we typically travel well. Elevators were plentiful. We had a long, tiring first day so we ordered room service. Everything we ordered and ate was excellent.

All in all, this is a great place to stay if you don't want to be in the middle of the Quarter 24/7, but the Quarter, Uptown, CBD/warehouse district, and Magazine St. are all easily accessible. It's probably tough to get to Frenchman St. and all it has to offer, but everything else is easy to get to.

Staff wasn't engaging or overly helpful, but we didn't ask for much and didn't need a lot of help. We knew the city well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SugarLand, TX
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I had to make a quick trip to New Orleans to attend a funeral. We usually stay in the Quarter, but this time needed to stay within walking distance of the church where the funeral was to be held. The Hotel Indigo was the closest hotel. The property is on the trendy side. We booked an executive king that was large and had a nice sitting area. The shower was huge. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. Between the comfort and quiet we slept well. We opted for the breakfast plan and were glad we did. There are lots of choices and the food was good. The breakfast service was excellent. The streetcar stop is right out front of the hotel and only costs $1.25. If we needed to stay in the Garden District again we would definitely stay at the Hotel Indigo again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebJ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

This is a very pretty and modern hotel located right in the Garden District. It is a wonderful place to stay if you have business at Tulane University, Loyola University, or you just want to shop on Magazine Street. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms are very nice and modern with big showers. Would have loved to have stayed longer!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank alcwHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#104 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Avenue Plaza Resort
#67 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District

Property: Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District
Address: 2203 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing