We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice minimalist hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District
Ranked #81 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice minimalist hotel”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our first experience of the Hotel Indigo chain was staying in their hotels in Baton Rouge and then New Orleans. We'll be looking out for them again - nice modern, minimalist hotels! The hotel in New Orleans is right on the St Charles streetcar route so easy to get into the French Quarter. The restaurant food was good and reasonably priced. The rooms themselves were clean and well appointed and the staff were friendly an helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KB_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    180
    58
    19
    19
See reviews for
137
193
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I really liked staying at the Hotel Indigo on a recent business trip. The room was spacious, luxurious, and very clean. The bathroom is unbelievable. I was on the 8th floor, and the room cooled down nicely despite the awful NOLA humidity. I had room service dinner, which was delicious, altho the quantities were small. They happily brought me a small fridge when I requested one. Valet parking was fast and friendly. I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron Township, MI
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Was very nice and trendy. Rooms are huge. The room was very clean. It was unusual to see animals in the hotel. The area is not as bad as described. The only thing I did not like was that the trolley seemed to be full every time it got to the stop. We had to wait for several before we could get on another one. Any how I would stay here again. You sure can't beat the cost for. Saturday night in NOLA,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HuronTwpTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Pros:
- Very cool design! I spent the first 30 minutes taking pictures of the Hotel.
- Super comfy bed and pillows!
- Nice Location in the Garden District, you can hop on the street car right out side.
- Pet friendly! We were able to take our puppy with us.
- The hotel entrance looked like a door from the future. I felt like I was on an episode of Star Trek every time I walked through it.
- The room doors opened really awesomely, too. You just swipe your key in front of the senor to open the door. There is no trying to figure out which way to slide the key in.
- Staff was helpful.
- Food was good.

Cons:
-The rooms aren't sound proof. Also, the bathroom echoed.
- It ended up costing us more than we initially realized it would. $20 parking fee per day, pet fees per day; lots of taxes.
-There is no pool.
-There is no complementary breakfast.
-There is no tub in the bathroom; shower only.
- Not much of a view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackiedoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in May as part of a very long trip , last four nights of our Holiday. I can't speak highly enough about this hotel ! The room (912) was very spacious and clean and the service was spot on from reception bar and valet parking! Two minor niggles no room service and the bar shuts early(10pm) plus points are location garden distric is safe! And the trolley bus stops outside which takes you downtown . Special mention to Erika Jerimiaha josh and Elisha who all made our trip memorable!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dg146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We arrived at 8pm and our room was not ready.
Hotel advertised room service although when calling for room service or calling the front desk, no one would answer the phone!
Housekeeping did not clean the used coffee pot nor leave more coffee for the following morning.
Claim to be a green hotel but housekeeping still washed the hanging towels everyday.
The hotel is decorated beautifully with an excellent location for riding the streetcar but I think since it has newly opened, the staff needs more training with customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear lovetotravel486,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced over the unsatisfactory service you received and experienced from the staff. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. Despite your disappointment I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DE
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had booked a DIVE online and needed a room ASAP, not only was a room available during a busy convention week(KBIS), it was just perfect, the price was right, the serve and location were too. Oh and it was right on the trolley line!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klmkaren1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catie M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks for the great review! Glad to hear that your experience was perfect! We do love being on the streetcar line and our guests like you find it very convenient. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#5 of 163 in New Orleans
319 reviews
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#99 of 163 in New Orleans
239 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Plaza Resort
#64 of 163 in New Orleans
719 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 163 in New Orleans
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District

Property: Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District
Address: 2203 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing