We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treat”

Killer Poboys in Erin Rose Bar
Ranked #123 of 1,964 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Must Be 21+ To Enter Internationally Inspired, New Orleans Style
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Treat”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

In the back of the bar there is a tiny room where you can order yummy food. I had grilled cheese sandwich which was spiked with Jamison which I enjoyed and my son had the "dark and stormy po' boy with pork belly and lime slaw (his favorite po' boy in New Orleans). It's a tucked away gem that's worth seeking out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Babsey1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    111
    43
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Po Boy, atmosphere was a little grimy”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I had ordered the sweet potato, greens and black bean poboy, which was outstanding, full of flavor and filling. The service was prompt. It really was delicious and perhaps one of my favorite and cheapest meals in NOLA during my 4 days there. Frankly, I found the bar to be a bit grimy, despite it's fun personality and couldn't believe I was paying $9 before tax for a sandwich, no sides or drink. In contrast, I might pay $6.50 - $8.50 here at home for a sandwich, with a pickle and side of chips, including some locally sourced organic produce in a sweet cafe with no intoxicated 50 year old men asking me for high-fives. Don't get me wrong, the poboy was great, and I would go back in a heartbeat, as well as highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darinicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pork belly heaven”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stopped here a couple of times for lunch. The first day I got the shrimp and she got the pork belly. While I really enjoyed the shrimp, trying the pork belly was phenomenal. The following day, we went back and this time, we both got the pork belly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jfisher13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Po Boy in heaven!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Small place yet tasty food. Had the meatloaf po boy. Best ever. My folks tried the shrimp po boy and the pork belly and didn't disappoint a bit. If looking for tasty po boys in NOLA you gotta stop here!

Helpful?
Thank mjfigue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rather good ”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Pretty good pork belly po boy, so good I got another one to go. Only complaint is I wish there was more pork and less belly going on.

Helpful?
Thank spat412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Killer Poboys in Erin Rose Bar also viewed

 

Been to Killer Poboys in Erin Rose Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing