We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have been better and they tried”
Review of SoBou

SoBou
Reserve with OpenTable
SoBou is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 1,947 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, International, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Bienville
Windermere,Florida
Level Contributor
200 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Should have been better and they tried”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was our first dinner among 3 couples trying out new restaurants in Nola. One late flight meant we arrived at 9:30 with reservations . The restaurant is beautiful , dark with lots of small lights and mirrors . One area looks like an old pharmacy . We had high expectations and the food we got was good . They are known for their cocktails, but they were out of a liqueur and didn't tell us. Unfortunately this trend continued. They were out of a wine we chose. And more than one food item. And they did not warn us in advance. They tried to make up by bringing a free appetizer and very small servings of punch. But it just deflates your experience. I hope others had a better experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    222
    76
    31
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
160 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Original and stylish, and the food's good too!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I was attracted to this restaurant by the decor, underlit shelves stacked with empty bottles through which the light shines creating a glow that eminates throughout the space... and then had a thoroughly good meal! They do an interesting range of 'small plates' if you are not feeling overly hungry, or decide to eat later and can't face a big dinner... The lighting is particularly nice, very flattering on tired skin after a day of hectic sight seeing... There is a decent amount of space between the tables ensuring that you can have an intimate conversation without being distracted by the table next to you. The menu consists of the usual fare, plus some New Orleans style dishes like alligator sausages (pictured). The service is efficient and the staff polite. There is a large bar which looked very welcoming, and has a good stock of wine, although we ate in the restaurant only. The clientele were mostly young couples, and groups of friends, the atmosphere is light, bustling and trendy. I would go back for sure!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LNT66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“SoBou, not So.”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I agree with others about the food , it was fabulous. The service was not what you expect from a Commanders restaurant. Our server was busy with helping other servers with their tables. She gave us menus and left. Asked if we wanted drinks but offered nothing else. She seemed surprised that we wanted lunch. Three tables were served water, drinks and lunch before we were thru ordering. The worst was the ladies bathroom. Filthy and no toilet paper. Yes, I did mention this to the reception desk and her response was "Thank You". I will not go back. They may have had an off day but please train your staff. Oh, and by the way we were not tourist!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cbm113050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“2nd Time as good as the first!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is one of the wonderful hidden gems in the city inside the W Hotel french quarter. The food is creative, flavorful, and whimsically presented. The cuilnary team does a great job of mixing various flavors and presentation for some of the most unique items I have had in New Orleans. The decor is very trendy and they have a wonderful beer and wine slection along with a full bar. They do have mixologist at the bar (not bartenders) that will create any type of drink your heart desires. Just let them know what you like and they will create it for you! The squash beignets were over the top, the blue crab mousse amazing!!! The Kobe beef slider out of this world! Just sample anything you have a craving for and you will not go wrong here! Great atomosphere and great service! Can not wait to go back!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank phxaztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Small, Delicious Portions”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Minimalist in décor and menu. Our table had fried chicken, SoBou burger, mac n cheese, fries, and apple & pear salad with shrimp. Don't be fooled by the homey sounding offerings, because the servings are smaller than average; however, the food was delicious. While we enjoyed our food, I do wish SoBou offered more variety. On the night we dined, the majority of entrees involved duck or fois gras, which are not our favorites.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SummersUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SoBou also viewed

 

Been to SoBou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing