We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Time as good as the first!”
Review of SoBou

SoBou
Reserve with OpenTable
SoBou is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #96 of 1,948 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, International, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Bienville
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“2nd Time as good as the first!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is one of the wonderful hidden gems in the city inside the W Hotel french quarter. The food is creative, flavorful, and whimsically presented. The cuilnary team does a great job of mixing various flavors and presentation for some of the most unique items I have had in New Orleans. The decor is very trendy and they have a wonderful beer and wine slection along with a full bar. They do have mixologist at the bar (not bartenders) that will create any type of drink your heart desires. Just let them know what you like and they will create it for you! The squash beignets were over the top, the blue crab mousse amazing!!! The Kobe beef slider out of this world! Just sample anything you have a craving for and you will not go wrong here! Great atomosphere and great service! Can not wait to go back!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank phxaztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    222
    76
    31
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Small, Delicious Portions”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Minimalist in décor and menu. Our table had fried chicken, SoBou burger, mac n cheese, fries, and apple & pear salad with shrimp. Don't be fooled by the homey sounding offerings, because the servings are smaller than average; however, the food was delicious. While we enjoyed our food, I do wish SoBou offered more variety. On the night we dined, the majority of entrees involved duck or fois gras, which are not our favorites.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SummersUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterton, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BY FAR the BEST food in NOLA”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Hands down, we had 10 items off the menut and all were top notch! You cannot go wrong here! Staff was great, place was very trendy and chic, went for lunch, great alternative to traditional NOLA foods. The tiny ice cream cones were amazing...won't tell you what was in them. Just order them! You won't be disapointed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank innovastrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Eclectic menu, excellent preparation.”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I had heard good things about this place, now I understand why. Interesting twists on classic Southern dishes. I will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NOLA_Monkeyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Only went to the bar, best cocktails ever”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The bar here is exquisite . It is a mixology bar. The drinks are handcrafted with precision, and thy are spot-on delicious. The will make any drink you want. Tell them what spirit you like, and they will make you your own personal drink. I had them make me a cucumber-jalepeno martini...it was superb. Abigail I think is the head bartender, she is creative, she is a master. There were 3 guys there as well. They were just as good. One even went out of his way to try and make us reservations at another restaurant. Another saved us from an annoying drunk guest. We had the Boudin balls as an app, it was very good. My advice, just sit back, enjoy some handcrafted excellence for a few hours.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caseywest99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SoBou also viewed

 

Been to SoBou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing