We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and delicious food.”

Annunciation Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Annunciation Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #326 of 1,963 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Arts District / Warehouse District
Cross street: Poeyfarre Street
Description: Annunciation Restaurant is the ideal spot for celebrating a special occasion, entertaining a group of important clients, or just looking to unwind after a hectic day at work with skillfully crafted cocktails, fine wines and an assortment of classic and contemporary Cajun and Creole dishes presented by Chef Jacob Cureton. Our debonnaire maitre'd Richard Williams will make you feel right at home and our professional, personable and knowledgeable staff will provide the impeccable service which you deserve.
Harrington Park, New Jersey, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service and delicious food.”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were in NOLA on a very busy weekend (Saints vs. Cowboys game!) and couldn't get a reservation in any of the Top 10 "classic" restaurants such as Commander's Palace, Le Petite Grocery, or Cochon, so our Concierge, Isabelle sent us here. As first-time visitors to New Orleans, this was perfect -- our waitress introduced us to the Sazerac cocktail which is apparently on the must-drink list for visitors to NOLA, and recommended great dishes - the Drum with coconut rice was excellent and salted caramel parfait for dessert a delight! Located in the Warehouse District, this was also a nice break from the craziness of Bourbon St. Try it - you'll love it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allysandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    55
    23
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very good service. Atmosphere is pretty loud and active.”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Took 7 to dinner and we able to hold conversation after the crowd began to thin out. Food was pretty good, but not remarakable. Overall an above average restaurant if you don't plan to have a business dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service by Alicia”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had a wonderful experience after this restaurant which was recommended by local friends. The evening was very special because of our server, Alicia. She is New Orleans born and raised and really seemed to enjoy what she did. She really has a great understanding of drink and food. Ask for her. We started with specialty drinks which were excellent. We had fantastic appetizers and main courses. The chef was formerly at Clancy's, another wonderful restaurant in Uptown. Really nice restaurant in the Warehouse District, close to downtown, the convention center, and the French Quarter. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The staff/atmosphere doesn't match the food...”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The food was very good but the staff and atmosphere was lacking.

We were a party of six and attempted to divide our bill by 6 rather than try to determine who had what. Simple. Our waiter could not grasp this concept and through much discussion, we had to calculate the amount to be billed on each card for him. Yes, this is hard to believe and yes, I know the computers allow for this but I promise our waiter would not or could not complete this task.

In addition, as the night wound down, there were a few tables where guests intermingled and were visibly "tipsy" to put it mildly. One yelled at the top of their lungs "Go Ducks" and the other "Roll Tide", references to college teams. That, I prefer not to happen at a nice restaurant but understand after a few drinks. What was disappointing was that none of the staff even approached the guest to quietly whisper, perhaps "ease up" or "hold it down a bit".

This experience took away from good food and to be honest, that is a shame.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverado, California
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Creative menu, intimate setting, nice food”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This little restaurant was recommended by a concierge, and the food ran from OK to fantastic. There was an interesting variety on the menu, decent wine selection and clever cocktail recipes, and I must admit, the deserts were fabulous. We were a party of 9, and the consensus was that the overall score from 1-10 (10 being WOW) was an 8. We two had the gumbo and the lobster risotto. The gumbo was excellent, but the lobster was a little bland. I expected a bit more since the gumbo was so good and some others had rave reviews of their dishes.

Service was a little hit and miss with timing and a few mix ups, but our main server was polite and professional, and he did his best under the circumstances. We were, after all a very demanding and complicated group, ordering numerous "by-the-way" dishes at odd times. The restaurant presents an intimate atmosphere, with lovely, low lighting complemented with interesting, bold art. It was a little loud though; that also might have something to do with our large group. On an ideal (quiet) night, I'd recommend it for a date.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spendley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annunciation Restaurant also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Annunciation Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing