We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service”

Annunciation Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Annunciation Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #329 of 1,954 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Arts District / Warehouse District
Cross street: Poeyfarre Street
Description: Annunciation Restaurant is the ideal spot for celebrating a special occasion, entertaining a group of important clients, or just looking to unwind after a hectic day at work with skillfully crafted cocktails, fine wines and an assortment of classic and contemporary Cajun and Creole dishes presented by Chef Jacob Cureton. Our debonnaire maitre'd Richard Williams will make you feel right at home and our professional, personable and knowledgeable staff will provide the impeccable service which you deserve.
Destrehan, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great Menu and very nice wine list. best appetizers are the Gumbo and the oysters. The entrees change from time to time. The only reason I didn't give it four stars was because of the noise factor and the hard wooden chairs. Ask for Alan, great waiter!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArthurL62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    55
    23
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“In our top ten restaurants in New Orleans. Tasty food, good service”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Recommended by a friend as a great new restaurant. Food and service and ambiance all very good. Appetizers: Oysters and brie = delicious, and marinated crab claws = also delicious. Both recommended by our server and would get the again. Entrees: Two specials we had were grilled pompano and a filet with chanterelle duxelles = both outstanding and the filet was about the best I have ever had for taste. Other entrees: slow roasted pork shoulder and black drum. The pork was so tender and flavorsome. Sides were black eyed peas, hash brown brussel sprouts - which were sliced and sauteed - yum - and cauliflower gratin. The entire dinner experience would feature in the top ten we have enjoyed over the past two year in New Orleans. One reason for not giving five stars is you cannot swop starch for a veg - all the veg are al a carte.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaela_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in the Warehouse District”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The dishes were creative and quite tasty, the waiters were attentive and friendly and the bar menu included some unique craft cocktails. The wine list offered a good selection at very reasonable prices. It's a relatively small restaurant with a "lively" atmosphere (but not too noisy to comfortably hold a conversation). I was referred by a local who gave the restaurant very high marks (which says a lot in a city with so many great restaurants). Everything you need for a great meal and an enjoyable dining experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FJP-TEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Must eat here”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I found out about this restaurant from the concierge in my hotel.
The atmosphere was outstanding as was the food.
I had the oysters with brie and angle hair with crabmeat. W also had one of every dessert. The blueberry cobbler was my favorite.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had a wonderful meal at Annunciation: cucumber salad, pork shoulder, and lemon pie. I highly recommend all three. The gin & tonic was well made as well. Service was friendly, but seemed a little slow at times even though the restaurant wasn't crowded. Maybe its just the pace of New Orleans.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank amasland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annunciation Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Annunciation Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing