We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to see the city”

New Orleans Jogging Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: New Orleans Jogging Tours provides visitors and locals with a narrative running tour of New Orleans best historic and cultural sites. New Orleans Jogging Tours offers the perfect opportunity to explore the city while enjoying New Orleans outstanding weather. This is a healthy and fun alternative to your typical guided excursion. New Orleans Jogging Tours is ideal for travelers who are tired of being confined to planes, cars, and hotel rooms. Why spend your time in New Orleans cooped up in a bus, when you can discover the city on foot? Enjoy getting exercise and learning about New Orleans from our licensed tour guides. Along with our regularly scheduled tours, we offer customizable and private tours. Lace-up your running shoes and join New Orleans Jogging Tours for a unique tour of the Big Easy!
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My favorite way to see any new city is by going for a run, and New Orleans Jogging Tours puts all my previous tourist-runs to shame. Marcus is an amazing tour guide! He is friendly and approachable, and SO knowledgeable about the city and all the history. A great way to see the sites of NOLA while having fun and getting a good workout.

1  Thank Faith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans J, Guest Relations Manager at New Orleans Jogging Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

We really appreciate your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"running tour"
in 32 reviews
"great tour"
in 41 reviews
"garden district"
in 51 reviews
"running pace"
in 5 reviews
"french quarter"
in 62 reviews
"took lots of pictures"
in 4 reviews
"pop culture"
in 5 reviews
"frequent stops"
in 5 reviews
"city's history"
in 6 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 20 reviews
"wealth of information"
in 4 reviews
"marcus"
in 261 reviews
"exercise"
in 50 reviews
"sights"
in 46 reviews
"nola"
in 95 reviews
"cemetery"
in 31 reviews
"highlights"
in 15 reviews
Filter

347 - 351 of 385 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

There is a reason why all of the reviews of this tour are Excellent -- TripAdvisor doesn't allow a higher rating! Marcus is one of the best tour guides you will ever meet. He knows the history of the city, like why the French Quarter should really be called the Spanish Quarter, as well as the best places to eat and drink (one place gives you a free Sangria if you mention his name). The tour is at a slow, relaxing pace and you stop frequently for pictures, but you still get 10K worth of exercise (which you will need if you decide to eat in New Orleans). A brief overview of the items we saw on our tour include the Art District around Decatur, Jackson Square, Jax Brewery, French Quarter, Bourbon St., Street Cars, Emeril's, Celebrity (Archie Manning, Brangelina, Sandra Bullock, Anne Rice, Jefferson Davis) Homes, Haunted Houses, Garden District, Luxury Homes, Cemetary, Warehouse District, Lee Circle, Slave Quarters, and the Business District, including the tallest building in New Orleans. Besides watching the Ravens win the Super Bowl, this was the highlight of our trip.

Thank RavenManiac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I had a great tour of the city with Marcus, who was very knowledgeable about the city's history and all Nola has to offer. The tour was a great way to get in my training miles while also having a little bit of fun! Thanks Marcus!

Thank kelcortesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans J, Front Office Manager at New Orleans Jogging Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2014

Thank you for the awesome review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The guide was a font of historic, family and cultural information that he managed to impart while running. As an added free treat, he took photos of me at many of the historic sites and scenic spots we visited. I had thought of bringing my iPhone to do just that, but I'm glad I didn't. The pace was right for all but the slowest runners -- I'm guessing 9- to 10-minute miles. Speed demons like me just need to dial back the temptation to go faster. Besides, it's about the history, not about how fast you can run the route. Be very careful, though: I tripped in the French Quarter on uneven pavement -- besides, is there any even pavement in the city? -- and skinned my shoulder, elbow and knee. This was my own fault, though.

1  Thank grammarboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans J, Owner at New Orleans Jogging Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Right! Sometimes I can loose 12lbs in an hour! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great run and the tour guide was very knowledgeable. I might be a little bias because the tour was tailored to me since i was the only one on the tour but it was a tuesday morning so not surprised. Saw a lot of great sites, worked up a good sweat, saw the city - both tourist areas and residential, and the tour guide was very accommodating. Would def recommend this tour for anyone who likes to jog or run in new places.

Thank Renee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans J, Manager at New Orleans Jogging Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2014

We really appreciate the review, it means alot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans Jogging Tours also viewed

 

Been to New Orleans Jogging Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing