We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Jazzfest Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of French Quarter Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
French Quarter Suites Hotel
Ranked #95 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
1 review
“A Great Jazzfest Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

My wife and I and another couple had a great stay at the French Quarter Suites for this Jazzfest. After years of spending the week cramped in larger hotels with smaller rooms, it was a true pleasure to have such a spacious and comfortable living area in which to relax after the show. Our suite had two large beds, a living room area with chairs and a sofa, a kitchen, bathroom and porch -- and we enjoyed all of it.

The staff and management were accommodating and extremely friendly. And the hotel even threw a Saturday-night crawfish boil for guests. Completely unexpected, and definitely appreciated.

Honestly, this kind of friendly, personal service can't be beat. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Spacious living area, friendly staff
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    114
    30
    9
    26
See reviews for
65
77
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgeland, MS
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2008

Easter in New Orleans was great. The French Quarter Suites Hotel was really a great discovery. Location is excellent, just 3 blocks from Bourbon St. The room was very spacious with everything you would need like a sitting area with sofabed, kitchen area with dining table, seperate sleeping room and bathroom. I had an accident the first night - I tripped and fell and cut up my face somewhat. They seemed very concerned and made sure I was ok. That is what hospitality is all about. Thanks and I will be back soon!!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nascarguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveMon
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2008

We stayed here as a group of 6. The hotel is only a few blocks from the French Quarter...but the area is a place where you do not want to walk alone at night. We stayed in one of the "town homes" which was supposed to have 3 br + bath. The bedrooms were not "rooms"...there were no doors, nor any privacy from other roomates. Beds were laid out across open spaces that are connected with no dividers. You literally had to squeeze your way around other beds (if someone was sleeping you would definitely wake them).

A majority of the staff was very unfriendly. Upon checkin, one male individual was extremely nice...the other was acting as if we were interupting something important that consumed him at his pc...he vaguely helped or answered our questions. Another time I went to use the wirless connection for my laptop (our room was not in range; you had to literally walk down 100ft to the main office)...I asked the female attendant (who was intentally reading a novel) if I could please get a couple more rolls of toilet paper. She stated that she didn't think she had any ...but would check or call the maintanence staff to get some. I said ok...I would be back after a few minutes working on my laptop.

When I came back after 15 minutes she was still reading her novel. I asked her for the tp and she hadn't even looked...she then proceeded to go into a closet and said she didn't have any and she would call someone to get me some. An hour later someone arrived. Very, very lackadasical staff.

The pictures online are very misleading. Plus, they do not detail information about the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DaveMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2008

Accomodations were spacious and clean, if not a wee bit worn (but I prefer the term "comfortabe"). Staff was friendly and attentive. Small, tasty continental breakfast included, to get you started. On the very edge of the French Quarter, it's only a few blocks to Bourbon Street, past lots of gorgeous houses that you don't want to miss (click, click, click). Also only minutes away from Saint Louis Cemetary #1 (see mausoleum of Marie Laveau, practitioner of voodoo), or to catch the St. Charles streetcar to see the nearby Garden District. Great experience, would definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — price & location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tink69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2008

We enjoyed our stay here. Our Lucy, a 60 pound lab mix, was welcomed here. The daytime clerk even had a dog in the lobby. It was nice to have a seperate living room, kitchen, and bedroom. There is an elevator, and we took advantage of the locked, gated parking area under the hotel. There was a clean pool, and far enough away from the party streets, that we got a good nights sleep. Just a block and a half away there is also an off leash dog park that our Lucy enjoyed playing with some of the local dogs. We were able to walk everywhere in the french quarter both days we were there. We highly recommend this hotel. The staff was very nice. We have stayed at B&B's in the french quarter before, but this was by far the nicest. It's an older place, but that just lends to the charm.

  • Liked — pet friendly and apartment style suite
  • Disliked — could have had a better breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fletcher_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2008

This place was great. We enjoyed our stay. It was close enough to the French Quarter to walk to everything. It had a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. The staff was super friendly and helpful.
I will stay there again.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank babylil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana-no-place
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2008

Very nice hotel. It is an older place, but it is very well tended to. Out of the party zone of the quarter, but just a few blocks out when you want to get there. Very secure with onsite parking for a nominal fee. Perfect for the family! We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mrcoffee46200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
#101 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,197 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#33 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Suites Hotel

Property: French Quarter Suites Hotel
Address: 1119 North Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — French Quarter Suites Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your French Quarter Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
French Quarter New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing