We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great for groups but not quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of French Quarter Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
French Quarter Suites Hotel
Ranked #89 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for groups but not quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed in the five bedroom townhouse. The house was great for our group to be together in one place. It allowed us to get dressed and hang out. The staff was easy to work with in making the reservation.

I am providing an average rating because:
1. The bathroom walls were dirty with dust covering the walls.
2. Though we provided a list of 11 women staying at the house, they only provided eight towels. We had to request extra towels so everyone could have one.
3. There were no extra pillows for those who needed more than one pillow. Each bed had a thin bedspread.
4. For the cost of the house rental, it was shocking to see the quality.
5. It is on the northern edge of the French Quarter. Therefore good walking shoes or finding a cab was necessary.

Room Tip: You may want to bring extra pillows and blankets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdgirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    111
    29
    9
    26
See reviews for
59
73
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Frankly, I don't understand how this place gets good reviews. I was in town for a major conference and this was a last minute booking. I was put in one of their "apartments" or whatever they call it. I do have to say the woman at the front desk was pleasant and professional. That's about the only positive I can come up with.

First, the location is on the edge of the French Quarter in a pretty sketchy neighborhood. Second, the room I was put in was really awful. It smelled very old and musty, the carpeting was frayed and the couch had some stains on (I have no idea what they were). The bathroom was tiny and the tub wasn't clean. The bed was uncomfortable.

Plus, I had the joy of being woken up twice, once at 2 am and again at 3 am by very loud groups of drunks returning from the French Quarter.

The "breakfast" consisted of a surly person behind the bar, who grunted when I said hello. The food was sparse, some toast, pre-packaged muffins, cheese slices, coffee, weak orange juice and some orange/grapefruit slices.

My colleagues and I left and found another place farther out of town. Unfortunately, because of the conference, there were no other places in town.

Room Tip: The other rooms might be better ... but I wouldn't chance it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RussAndersonUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 2012 Jazz Fest. We fit 4 in the bedroom and two in the living room comfortably- and got a great value as a result. Nice kitchenette, great location, super close to the French Quarter. The building is well maintained and remarkably quiet considering it was a wild weekend. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Staff friendly & helpful, from house keeping to Leslie, the front desk person , who went above & beyond our expectations. She was very knowledgeable about the city including where to eat, day trips/ tours etc. Hotel lots & patio areas well lighted. Continental breakfast had fresh fruit, bagels, raisin toast, cereal, juice, coffee & more. Close enough to activities, ( 5 - 10 min walk to Bourbon St.) but quiet enough to sleep well. Our bed was comfortable & room clean & smelled good. Very pleased for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carcydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Mississippi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I love this hotel. We have 3 pugs and always take them with us. The floors are brick.....original too! Which is great for my dogs...no slipping and sliding on the floors. It does cost $25 a dog for each night. My dogs are house broken so they don't ever make a mess. It would be great to pay a one time dog fee for our stay instead of every night. We end up paying almost $300 for one night for a 2 person room with the dog fee. Overall, the hotel is stunning, breakfast is free..the place is very clean. Plus its 4 blocks from Bourbon street.

Room Tip: If u have dogs that don't care for steep steps ask to sleep on 1st deck. Otherwise. ...all room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jodi a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPM-Hotels, Manager at French Quarter Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your ideas about how we can be better, I will review our pet policy and also review other hotel's policies. Thanks again for your business and your review. Happy Mardi Gras!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timonium, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We rented two one bedroom suites and our stay was awesome. The rooms were perfect and accomodated 8 of us comfortably. The balcony made it a great place for us to relax and enjoy the wonderful New Orleans weather. The hotel is a short walk to Bourbon street, but far enough away you can't hear the noise. Pat and his staff were nothing short of exceptional. I would highly recommend the French Quarter Suites to anyone looking for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPM-Hotels, Manager at French Quarter Suites Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks again for sharing your Super Bowl experience with us. We had an amazing time preparing for this huge event. It is nice to hear we made mark. I hope we will see you again sometime in the future. Happy Mardi Gras, and thanks again! Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom suite with some other family members. Overall the stay was great, but one major problem occurred that made me give this property a rating of TERRIBLE.

I was sitting on the couch with my wife watching some TV, when a guy wearing a hotel uniform peers through the window, his breath fogging up the window. He looked in a particular direction and did not immediately see us. When he finally did see me he just nodded and walked away. I called the desk and the guy fed me an obvious lie about a cable man looking to see if we had cable and apologized. Called a second time when I saw the same employee and was fed a different story about the man looking for a cot. This was not acceptable behavior, a knock at the door would have been better, and my wife and I no longer felt safe.

Pros: Great location, fairly affordable for the room.

Cons: Shady staff, stiff beds, expensive parking

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPM-Hotels, General Manager at French Quarter Suites Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Again, please accept our appologies. As i mentioned to you that day, we had a guy working on our property from the Cable Company. At first I thought it was him when you called to report the incident. When I investigated further, I learned it was our houseman. You were staying in room 331. He was asked to retrieve cot from room 231. He misheard the request and went to your room by mistake. You are correct, he should have knocked and we took time to review our policies with him so this would not happen again. I am sorry this prompted a bad review as it seems like the rest of your stay was enjoyable.

Patrick Berthelot\
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
#103 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#60 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 730 reviews
French Quarter
BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Suites Hotel

Property: French Quarter Suites Hotel
Address: 1119 N Rampart St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — French Quarter Suites Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your French Quarter Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
French Quarter New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing