We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mardi gras weekend girls only trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
French Quarter Suites Hotel
Ranked #99 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mardi gras weekend girls only trip!”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Me and 7 other girls came here for Mardi gras From Friday until Wednesday. I have to say i was plesantly surprised with the hotel! Check in was some what confusing as they have to lobbys, I waited in line behind another checkin for 20 mins only to be told i needed to check in at the other side, annoying to say the least. But after that check in was a breeze! Both of our rooms were average as expected, nothing to write home about but they did the trick! Now the best parts of the hotel as the location and free breakfast! Hotel is located just outside of the french quarters but very accessible to everything! We never felt too far away to walk where ever we wanted!

The breakfast was a typical continental breakfast heavy on breads light on Fruit, but the make it yourself waffles were delicous! We took advantage of this 3 times we were there...

Now the Bad parts of the trip... The people in NOLA are very hospitable and welcoming! Most of our hotel staff was as well, but we were there for 5 days and our housekeeper only brought towels and dumped them on our beds! No change of sheets, No trash removal, no toilet paper, Nothing... just fresh towels! I mean come on, the least you can do is take out the trash! By the end of our trip we had a corner piled with trash as some form of containing it! Went to the front desk and asked for toilet paper as it had not been refreshed for our entire trip, I was told to get it from the bathroom in the hallway! Not really what you expect to here from someone who is supposed to be serviceing you! So I made sure i took all of the extra rolls there since i knew it would be a while before we recieved anymore!

For the most part this hotel is acceptable to stay in for an event but I probably wouldn't choose it for a normal visit to NOLA as some of the other hotels are more affordable and offer much more servcie for the price. We paid $300 a night for this hotel only because of mardi gras, so if you will be staying during an event this is probably an affordable hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraP844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    118
    30
    10
    26
See reviews for
69
79
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Absolutely loved my recent trip to NOLA! Booked the hotel online- great price- knew going in that it was an older venue with charm and locale on its side! Was not disappointed- actually loved the architecture, the stories(ghosts), the Staff, the Owner! So accommodating from the moment we arrived- I had booked the wrong size room- needed more beds, the owner graciously took care of this for a nominal charge- then upgraded us to a two room suite! Since there were three of us- walking to and from the local areas- ie Bourban Street, French Market, Street car pick ups, Parades, Royal Street, was quick and convenient, probably wouldn't have wanted to do so alone- but that's what friends are for!!!

The beds were awesome- so comfortable as were the pillows!! Slept great- and I usually don't in hotels! The bathroom needed more counter space- just pedestal sink and a shelf-needed more water pressure in shower too, but since we were quick to get ready and go have more fun- it was fine-and there were plenty of fresh, clean towels. . It looks like they are constantly improving the place- as new shutters were being installed the day we left- and much of it was freshly painted.

We loved the quaintness and southern hospitality offed at the French Quarter Hotel. If you want the Hilton- then pay up and stay at the Hilton. If you want to experience the French Quarter IN the French Quarter- then stay here - the people are so helpful, genuine, and kind- you will be glad you did- I KNOW - we will def stay here again!!

Room Tip: We were on the second level over looking the pool area- lovely! Close to main area where breakfast w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We got a great deal online, $650 for a four night stay in a two bedroom suite (4 adults), never paid a dime until we arrived. Worried about location but it turned out to be a pleasant walk to Bourbon, Royal, etc. Blake was so accomodating, reccomended some great restaurants. Requests for extra blankets, batteries for TV remote handled immediately. Some traffic noise but who comes to NOLA to sleep? Walked everywhere, never felt uncomfortable or unsafe. Gas station two doors down has food, drinks, etc. The outdoor area was lovely, never used the pool but enjoyed looking at it. Continental breakfast was sufficient; coffee, juice, breads and waffles. Fresh oranges too. Rooms were adequate,not new or updated but it's New Orleans, everything is old! That is half the charm! Gorgeous staircase in the front hall, loved the architecture. There are certainly more modern places to stay but for the price, it was a great value. When I travel, I want to get the local feel, no Holiday Inn. If you are looking for that, this is the wrong place. Great balcony along the second floor for people watching. Relax and enjoy the character of the place. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Schudavizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the French Quarter Suites Hotel. Suite was very comfortable, hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Walking distance to everything in the French Quarter, practically next door the the Louis Armstrong Park. Comfortably walked back to suite from Bourbon Street after dark.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amory
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We arrived to find out that we would be staying in the New Orleans next door to the French Quarter Hotel and Suites. We booked our room in October, and a $250 deposit was withdrawn from our checking account immediately. Our trip was not scheduled until December 29. This deposit was suppose to be half of our stay; however, again when we arrived we were surprised to find out differently. Our total ended up being $765 for Thursday - Sunday nights. After that shock, we were given a room upstairs with no elevator to help carry luggage. The room was horrible. I wish I would have taken pictures. The bed was hard and slanted downhill. The bedspread was stained and contained a horrible smell. Thank goodness the sheets were clean. However, the bathroom was nasty. The sink area was very, very small -- only the sink with a mirror. The shower was also nasty, and you had to wait at least 15 minutes for hot water everytime you wanted to take a shower or use hot water. I called the front desk; the repronse I received was not helpful at all. The lady told me that there was nothing she could do and that was just the way it was. Also, we had to use earplugs every night just to try to get any sleep. The sound of the traffic from North Rampart was unbelievable. ...Location was also bad.. This hotel appeared to be in a rough part of town, and we had to walk many, many blocks to get to Bourbon Street. I did not feel safe when walking. When we checked in the hotel clerk told me to stay on Ursaline St. to get to Bourbon. (This was a big clue to me that it was not a safe place to be.) The continental breakfast does only consist of various types of bread, fruit, and waffles as stated in some of the other reviews....... Please try to find somewhere else to stay...don't waste your money on this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank emcd76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

The hotel is in a great location on the edge of the French Quarter and walking distance from Bourbon Street (although we were recommended to get a cab after dark for safety). The rooms have good character although a drawer in ours had stuff from a previous visitor in it so housekeeping could be better. The pool was good although a few bits of plants/leaves floating in it. Breakfast was good although almost entirely carbs (waffles and a wide variety of breads). The (female) receptionist in the day was outstanding and booked our bus tour for us as well as spending a good deal of time helping us find good places to eat and showing us the best route to walk to get everything we wanted to do done in the time we had.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Certainly plenty of room here. It's handy having a kitchenette and a real bedroom. The location is good--walking distance to pretty much wherever most tourists would want to go.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guillaume89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
New Orleans Courtyard Hotel
#103 of 163 in New Orleans
324 reviews
Central Business District
Quarter House Resort
Quarter House Resort
#12 of 163 in New Orleans
682 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,550 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,204 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Suites Hotel

Property: French Quarter Suites Hotel
Address: 1119 N Rampart St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Treme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — French Quarter Suites Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the old New Orleans charms of poolside guest rooms to our spacious 1 bedroom suites with full kitchen, 2 bedroom suites with a dry bar, multi-bedroom townhouses and charming cottages. Explore our family of French Quarter Properties and discover why our guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your French Quarter Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel New Orleans
French Quarter New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing