We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Mix of Class and Comfort -- at a Great Price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Criollo Restaurant

Criollo Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Criollo Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 1,932 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Royal Street between Bienville and Iberville
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
“Perfect Mix of Class and Comfort -- at a Great Price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

The Hotel Monteleone restaurant "Criollo" provides the perfect mix of great food, class and comfort -- all at a very reasonable price for New Orleans. We chose meals on the lower end of the price scale with only one glass of wine, but the wait staff still treated us as if we had spent three times that much. The atmosphere was the prefect mix of class -- cloth tablecloths, candles and formal dress wait staff -- combined with a friendly, sincere causal-enough welcome that made the experience super. Our entree foods -- swordfish and sea bass -- were perfectly prepared; the deserts, especially the creme' brulee, were about the best we had in New Orleans. Our waiters, James and Keri, gave us wonderful service, and we were greeted also by the head waiter, David. Don't miss this classic restaurant on you to visit New Orleans!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    150
    63
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A couples week end ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at hotel Monteleone for a couples week end. The restaurant was fantastic! We had a very nice dinner, the food was sooo good! The service was excellent(James) was our waiter. Every bite was a treat. We also had the breakfast buffet the next morning and it was great as well. The beignets with praline sauce was the best ever! Excellent atmosphere. I would suggest this to anyone. I loved it!

Helpful?
Thank Loreelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
327 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Upscale Dining one street off Bourbon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

The Hotel Monteleone is lovely as you walk in from the street. We had reservations for a Sunday night at Criollo. We took a peak at the Carousel bar- yes it's a carousel and yes it turns-very slowly. We were seated right away and our cocktail preference- slightly different Manhattan was perfectly made. We shared appetizers which were perfect- gumbo and oysters. Interestingly, our water server was incredibly personable and we talked w/ him several times; Chaz was full of information and offered us a try from one of the chef in training of a tomato/moz small salad- herbs were done just right.
For dinner, 2 of us had the snapper and one had the grouper w/ crabmeat. Both dishes were delicious and beautifully presented- not a piece was left. The manager, David, was helpful several times during the evening. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janicepk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastico!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Local New Orleanian here. Hubby & I went for anniversary dinner and it was sublime. The crab, avocado stack is divine. Very good seafood gumbo with fried okra on top. Incredible salad with grilled shrimp & scallops. Waiter Drew & pastry chef came out with a suprize dessert; creme brule with blackberries, blueberries, raspberries, chocolate ganauce and edible hibicus flower and Happy Anniversary in Chocolate. Service was great; love the comfy deep chairs. Always the best at the Hotel Monteleone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ValinNola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great dining experience but bypass the bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I ate at Criollo last night for dinner. We were early for our reservation so we decided to sit at the bar and grab a drink while we waited. The Bartenders were very unfriendly and not attentive. I would never go back to that bar again! ( Don't confuse the restaurant bar with the Carousal Bar at the hotel. I'm talking about the restaurant bar!!! The Carousal bar rocks!!!) From the moment we sat down for dinner, to the time we left our table, everything was fantastic! From the attentive wait staff, to the bread, to the salad and finally to a wonderful, delicious dinner, service was impeccable!! Colin was our waiter and he was terrific! He certainly made up for the horrible bar experience while waiting for our table. I highly recommend dinner at Criollo, ask for Colin! But don't waste your time at the bar!!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Criollo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Criollo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing