We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely and clean”
Review of Inn on St Ann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn on St Ann
Ranked #34 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

The Inn on St Ann is a wonderful find. It is very European feel and very clean. The area is quiet and a police station near by adds to the feel of being safe. The furnishings were current and nice bedding. Extra nice touch of Aveda products and plenty of fluffy towels. The room is small but perfect for someone traveling light and needs a clean/quiet place to rest. I am grateful to other reviews mentioning that parking is 5 blocks away. Great location for walking the Quarter and bus stop near by for other destinations like Voodoo music festival. Super quick walk to Cafe Du Monde and the Cathedral. The only suggestion I would offer is some adjustment to the door on the exterior rooms, the gap between the french doors could be fixed slightly without losing the charm. As other reviews mentioned - stairs are involved but they are not too difficult and upon check in I was asked if I wanted any help with my bags to the room. The staff I encountered were very nice and helped with suggestions for breakfast near by. I will be returning.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank wanderlust9grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St Ann, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Inn on St Ann with us and others on TripAdvisor! It sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us and found our prime location and helpful staff to be exactly what you were looking for. We hope to have you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 599 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great place just spent a week here,very helpful and friendly staff!Perfect location,we could do all sight seeing everything on foot!Small but nice rooms.Clean and pleasant!!We were across the street from the hotel very quiet.

Room Tip: Pick one on the main floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St Ann, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your recent week-long stay at the Inn on St Ann! We are pleased you enjoyed your time in New Orleans and found the Inn on St Ann's location to be so convenient for sight seeing. We hope to see you again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I travel to New Olreans several times a year for work and play and know the area very well. This was our first stay at St Ann's and we will definately return. We stayed in a room at Marie Laveau apartments. Small rooms, but really clean and comfortable with beautiful wood floors and updated bathrooms. Also, very quiet and secure even though the hotel is steps away from Armstrong Park where we went to an awesome free concert. Staff was fun and friendly. My only suggestion would be to offer better coffee with real cream in the lobby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St Ann, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Inn on St Ann. We are pleased you found our location to be so great, guestrooms to be so clean and our staff to be so fun, helpful and friendly! Armstrong Park has some great free concerts this time of year, such as Jazz in the Park, and we love to hear how our guests are able to take advantage of them. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and others on TripAdvisor and look forward to having you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I have been to New Orleans many times and have stayed everywhere throughout the city. This was probably our favorite place for location, budget, cleanliness and privacy. The bed was so comfortable I had a hard time getting out of it, shower pressure was great and the room was adorable. It felt like we had our own apartment and you really get the full Quarter experience being in the neighborhood. Easy walk to everything, friendly, helpful staff and beautiful courtyard!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amcgurk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St Ann, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

We are thrilled to hear the Inn on St Ann has topped your list of places to stay in New Orleans! It sounds like our comfortable beds, clean guestrooms, helpful staff and fair price point were exactly what you were looking for. We truly appreciate your kind remarks and look forward to having you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties upon your next visit to NOLA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

W recently visited NOLA for the Saints-Atlanta game and had a wonderful stay at the Inn on St Ann. The room was small, but comfortable and meet our needs for pleasurable sleep. The location was wonderful, in the midst of everything Bourbon (loved it)! The hotel staff was very helpful in providing suggestions for game day locations and great food options, without the tourist flavor, or pricing. I definitely recommend the Inn, especially for couples. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShanaJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St Ann, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay with us for the Saints vs. Falcons football game (WHO DAT!). We are so pleased to hear you found our location to be so ideal and our staff to be so helpful. The highest form of compliment we can receive from our guests is to hear you would not only recommend the Inn on St Ann to others, but will be returning upon your next visit to New Orleans! We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We arrived really early and were happy to find that they had a room for us that we could check into. The only catch..it was on the third floor which can only be accessed via 2 long, winding, rather steep staircases. Not a huge deal, but if you drink like most people do on Bourbon st then manuvering them can be kinda tricky.

We were there for decadence and this location was perfect. 2 block walking distance from Bourbon St and virtually adjacent to another Decadence bar.

The room itself was nice,clean and up to date, and the staff was very friendly and accomodating.

Only advice...if you dont want to deal with so many stairs make sure they put you in a room on the first or (at least) the 2nd floor. The only thing that wopuld have made this place better was if there was a pool to come back to in the evening after being out in the heat all day.

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor to avoid so many stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmh181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St Ann, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Inn on St Ann with us. It sounds like our prime location, clean and newly renovated guest rooms and friendly and accommodating staff were exactly what you were looking for! We apologize for the inconvenience of not having an elevator, as the Inn on St Ann is a historic property. We find that our repeat guests request certain floors, and even specific rooms, when re-booking with us and we are more than happy to place you in a first or second floor room upon request. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was a little surprised to see how small my queen bed room was--the room was barely larger than the bed and a side table. But I knew that I was only going to be sleeping there and gone all day, so I didn't mind. Besides, this hotel was half of the convention hotel where my event was held. The room was extremely clean with high-quality linens and towels. The bed was extremely comfortable with ample pillows. The bathroom had marble floors and high-end furnishings. Two small complaints--the sink didn't drain well, and the air conditioning remote didn't work. Luckily, the unit was on and that combined with the ceiling fan kept the room cool enough in the humid August weather of New Orleans. I stayed in the Marie Laveau apartments across the street from the Inn. This is a very old and historic building, so be aware that some aspects of the building may seem sub-par. The doors look original, but that means they are not really soundproofed. My room looked out on the courtyard, and I was awakened by other guests at about 2am. I could hear the noise through my earplugs, so they were unusually loud!! When I first arrived, I didn't get in until after midnight. Luckily, other guests were walking into the main part of the Inn as I would have needed a key. I walked to the back of the small lobby and called the night manager who was off-location. Fortunately, the manager arrived very, very quickly--I was exhausted, but I got into my room within minutes As a single female, I was a little leery of walking in this neighborhood, so I took taxis to my convention events.

Room Tip: I would speak directly to the hotel staff when booking a room as the rooms are quite varied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St Ann, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Inn on St Ann. We are pleased to hear you found our price point to be so fair and our staff to be so efficient. You are correct in mentioning that the size of the guestrooms do vary and we always suggest booking directly through the hotel so we can help you pick the room that best suits your needs. We apologize for the AC remote not working during your stay, and will make sure to address the issue to ensure it does not happen again. However, we are thrilled that you found your bed to be so comfortable, with high quality linens, and guestroom to be so clean. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we hope to have you back again at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#39 of 166 in New Orleans
816 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#50 of 166 in New Orleans
463 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#64 of 166 in New Orleans
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#32 of 166 in New Orleans
2,313 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
1,373 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on St Ann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St Ann

Address: 1013 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: $110 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on St Ann 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be a part of our extended French Quarter family at the Inn on St. Ann. This charming French Quarter Inn boasts a courtyard shaded by a century old oak tree and common areas appropriately decorated with antiques, chandeliers, and original local artwork.This inn in New Orleans is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Built in 1830, the Inn on St. Ann epitomizes the iconic architecture the French Quarter is often recognized for. With its hanging plants and wrought iron balcony fronting St. Ann, you’ll immediately feel the true allure of the French Quarter..Enchanting interior spaces are accented by the exposed brick foyer and grand staircase. Each of our 16 guest rooms has been consistently restored with traditional finishes yet each showcases its own exclusive features with a collection of fireplaces and unique architectural details.The Armstrong Suite, the most admired accommodation of the French Quarter Guest Houses, features floor to ceiling windows opening on to your own private balcony. Whether you desire the grand or quaint, the Inn on St. Ann has what you’re looking for in your next visit to New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn on St Ann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing