We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in a perfect location!”
Review of Inn on St Ann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn on St Ann
Ranked #42 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in a perfect location!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here for four days, and wished we could have moved in. This hotel was pretty and charming, without lacking any modern comforts. My partner and I enjoy travelling, but this was perhaps the only time we have ever said "Remember this name. We have to stay here again!"

To say that the rooms were clean and comfortable would be to downplay what really made our stay spectacular: the hosts at the desk were lovely and jumping to give great recommendations for great things to see and do, and the inn's location in the French Quarter was spectacular! How nice it was to grab a coffee and danish from the hotel in the morning, walk a quick 5 minutes to St. Louis Cemetery #1 or Louis Armstrong Park and enjoy a day in the city. Then, to return to the room only to walk an even shorter 2 or 3 blocks to the countless bars and restaurants of Bourbon Street.

With our bellies (and livers) happy and full of New Orleans goodness, we could have slept just about anywhere, but the Inn on St. Ann provided a big comfy bed, hot shower, wifi, and flat screen t.v. (the latter two we almost never enjoyed, too busy taking in the surroundings).

My only reservation in writing this review: that on our next stay, the hotel will be too booked for us to enjoy again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spigotmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St Ann, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Ann with us and others on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to hear that your stay was nothing short of excellent!

We take much pride in our top notch customer service and appreciate that you noticed this as well. Our front desk agents are full of great insider knowledge on the 'must-see's' of New Orleans and love to share the local secrets with our guests!

You also noted how clean and comfortable your guest room was. We have gone to great lengths to ensure that everything in our guest rooms (and public areas as well) is spotless and have furnished the rooms with top of the line mattresses, linens and furnishings! We also provide the other amenities you would appreciate in a larger chain hotel such as WiFi, flat screen tvs and granite shower and counter tops!

Finally, you mentioned our great location as we are located in the quiet residential section of the French Quarter which is just a few steps away from the great bars and restaurants on Bourbon Street!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you back at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    186
    51
    19
    10
See reviews for
55
290
50
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 days , found the location because of a groupon and was a steal because of the value! Very up to date furnishings, granite flooring and tile. Very nice bathroom and linens. Easy to access bourbon st and jackson square, where everything is! Jonathan was very pleasant to deal with and provided fantastic meal and entertainment recommendations. We will be back and will recommend to others. Very easy access in and out of room, and gated to keep VERY safe. Pictures will not do this justice. Don't waste your time on a search and BOOK here!!!!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St Ann, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Ann with us as well as others on Trip Advisor! We are so pleased you were able to take advantage of our promotion on Amazon Local.

As all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties are newly renovated, our premier furnishings and amenities are just one of the great features we have to offer! You mentioned our prime location, which is our number one selling point for all of our properties as we are located in the residential section of the Quarter. This ensures that our guests are just steps away from all of the Bourbon Street action while still being able to retreat back to a quiet and peaceful guestroom.

We would love to have you stay with us again and hope you think of us for your next visit to our fabulous city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
268 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We liked the location - within walking distance of everything in the Quarter, but not in the midst of all the noise and foolishness. The rooms are nice, very spacious, renovated, and the bathrooms exceptional. But, the power went out once, and the cable another time as well. Nobody at the front desk was very concerned on either occasion. One other little item is that plastic glasses do not win points with me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KFM9275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St Ann, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We want to thank you for sharing your experience at the Inn on St Ann with us as well as others on Trip Advisor.

You mentioned our great location, which is the number one feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties! We are within walking distance to all the great attractions of the french quarter while still providing a safe, quiet and comfortable place to come back to after an exciting day out!

We are so pleased that you appreciated our top notch amenities and furnishings as we have recently completed upgrading the entire property. We apologize for the glitch with the power during your stay, our front desk agents were most likely maintaining their composure while ensuring that the issue was being addressed immediately.

We would love to have you stay with us again at any of our four French Quarter Guest Houses properties, should you return to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We came for our honeymoon and somehow became the "Imfamous" honeymoon couple that everyone was hearing about in the quarter lol. I researched many hotels and bed and breakfast but there was something about the Inn that made me book there. I was nervous when we first got there but was beyond surprised when we got to our suite. It was beautiful! Exposed brick, two ac units, one in the living area, one in the bedroom. Large, comfortable bed with quality linens. The lady who I believe was named Caroline, checked us in Sunday evening. She was very helpful in getting us around the area and eating suggestions.

Yes, you have to climb alot of stairs to get to our room. Honestly the only two problems we had the entire stay was, there is NO parking. You must budge an additional 100 plus dollars depending on your stay, to drive down over 4 blocks off Ramport, for overnight parking. Also on our last evening there, around 1am, either housekeeping or front desk, randomly opened our door to let in a guy who had the wrong room.

Would 100% book here again. You are far enough for the quiet streets, but close enough to the action.

Room Tip: We loved our room 24. It's in the corner upstairs. You don't hear alot of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Audrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St Ann, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and other's on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that our accommodations were nothing short of your expectations for your honeymoon! We pride ourselves on the top notch amenities provided in all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties. As all of our properties are newly renovated, we added all the modern amenities one would expect while still maintaining the historic charm (such as the exposed brick you mentioned) that the properties have to offer.

We do want to mention that as you referenced your room was 24, your stay was actually at our Inn on St Peter property, which is part of the French Quarter Guest Houses properties. However, the Inn on St Ann offers the same quality amenities, service and fabulous location! So booking at any of our four properties will guarantee an experience that leaves nothing to be desired!

As you also mentioned our knowledgeable staff, we are thrilled that you appreciated their expertise regarding the local culture and general navigation of the area. We consider our agents to be expert Navigators of the French Quarter.

We are extremely sorry for the miscommunication with our staff that caused entry to your room while occupied, and will do everything in our power to ensure that does not happen again.

We can't wait to have you back again, as we are extremely confident that your experience would be nothing short of your expectations! Thank you again for reaching out to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed in a deluxe full room in the Marie Laveau apartments at the Inn on St. Ann, and we thought it was great. Our room was across the interior patio, on the second floor, and felt very private. We barely saw anyone else the whole time, and definitely didn't hear many noises.
Further details:
- Great location. Very quiet, even though its only a couple blocks of Bourbon st. We could walk to Tropical Isle in ~5 min, Cafe du Monde in about ~10min.
- We loved the exposed brick in the room, the hard wood floors, and real tile in the bathroom.
- Very comfortable bed. May be too soft for some people.
- The room was spotless, including the bathroom. Seriously, one of the cleanest hotel rooms I've ever been in.
- Both the room and the bathroom were small, but that wasn't a problem for us (its not like we came to NOLA to hang out in the room). The pedestal-style sink did make it hard to deal with toiletries, but we managed.
- If you're not used to AC window units, you might think its loud. If you want central air, go stay in a hotel. I grew up with window units, so I don't even notice it.
- Very good, hot coffee was available every time we went by the front desk, and my husband drinks a ton of coffee, so we'd go by multiple times a day. Skip the pastries (looked like they were from a costco), and go to one of the great cafes in the french quarter for breakfast.
- Every time we did see a hotel worker, they were very friendly, always said hi. The front desk helpfully stored our luggage on our last day and called a cab for us to get to the airport later that day.
- The free wifi was fairly reliable, but sometimes could be slow

I would definitely stay here again. Though, looking at the other reviews, I would try to get the same room we booked - its seems like other people had problems with noise, which was not the case for us.

Room Tip: I would try to get a room like we had: in the Marie Laveau area, across the patio, on the second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mmd2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The location of the hotel was great to be able to walk to the restaurants, shops and explore the French Quarter. The hotel however was not that good. It is a renovated house and it is very loud, you can hear every other guest entering and leaving their rooms and then the front door banging closed 24 hours. I know you don't go to the French Quarter to sleep but you will not get ANY sleep here! The bedding and towels were clean but the room was tiny and smelt musky. The cleaning crew were very loud and not very considerate of the guests. The location is great though!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelleydiva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were placed in the room next to the front door. RIGHT next to the front door. We heard the door slam loudly every time someone came in or out. Having a room right next to the front door in the first place is stupid, but not even having an anti-slamming mechanism on the door is even more moronic. We heard everything that was happening on the street in front of us. What really put the cherry on the cake was how obnoxious the staff/cleaning crew was. Firstly, there was a 30 minute wait when we arrived at the inn- there was no one manning the front desk or answering the phones. Secondly, our friends who had also made reservations had to cancel due to incorrect booking/ room mixups. The staff was not apologetic or accommodating. The BEST part of all was the obnoxious cleaning crew that arrives early in the morning...that also thinks tat sleeping guests would like to hear all their hooting n' hollering in the hallways. Asked them to politel keep it down, and that didnt work. I'm not a picky person... This hotel was just such an obnoxious experience for me. I can imagine that other customers feel very similarly about the place, from what I have observed. Horrid experience, just horrid. That cleaning crew should all be fired... All this aside, the modern decor and renovations are nice. However, I will never return here because of this horrible experience.

Room Tip: Do not get room 60 by the door, whatever you do. Try to get a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#37 of 162 in New Orleans
752 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#31 of 162 in New Orleans
416 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#64 of 162 in New Orleans
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
1,253 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
613 reviews
French Quarter
Cornstalk Hotel
Cornstalk Hotel
#34 of 162 in New Orleans
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on St Ann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St Ann

Property: Inn on St Ann
Address: 1013 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on St Ann 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be a part of our extended French Quarter family at the Inn on St. Ann. This charming French Quarter Inn boasts a courtyard shaded by a century old oak tree and common areas appropriately decorated with antiques, chandeliers, and original local artwork.This inn in New Orleans is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Built in 1830, the Inn on St. Ann epitomizes the iconic architecture the French Quarter is often recognized for. With its hanging plants and wrought iron balcony fronting St. Ann, you’ll immediately feel the true allure of the French Quarter..Enchanting interior spaces are accented by the exposed brick foyer and grand staircase. Each of our 16 guest rooms has been consistently restored with traditional finishes yet each showcases its own exclusive features with a collection of fireplaces and unique architectural details.The Armstrong Suite, the most admired accommodation of the French Quarter Guest Houses, features floor to ceiling windows opening on to your own private balcony. Whether you desire the grand or quaint, the Inn on St. Ann has what you’re looking for in your next visit to New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Inn on St Ann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing