We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“decent clean hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Ranked #51 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Dawson Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“decent clean hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

this place was not bad at all, clean and well decorated; nothing to write home about but certainly a very comfortable place to stay to enjoy NOLA. Right across the road from Bourbon st, which is both good an bad, depending on your point of view!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frater93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We know cleanliness is one of our guest's top priorities and we're happy you enjoyed our housekeeping services here at the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter. Location is just as important especially with all the walking you do in New Orleans.

Come back and see us soon!

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    403
    161
    62
    26
See reviews for
228
381
56
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Excellent location, comfortable room with a king size bed. Very clean. We stayed only one night and being in the middle of the action we were able to walk everywhere. The free breakfast was really bad and we made sure they knew about it. I do recommend otherwise. We also used the valet parking, even though expensive, it was very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elliewww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know that our location served you well! Please do accept my apologies for your disappointment with our breakfast and rest assured we do take your comments to heart.

Please visit us again when you can take full advantage of our brand new restaurant, we won't disappoint you!

Sincerely,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hotel is under construction so that didn't lend itself to the usual Hilton decor. Overall, comfortable accommodations in a good location for a good price. Room was clean although ours was a little dark due to the lacking view. Free wi-fi. Liked being right around the corner from the Quarter but not in the mix. Appreciated hotel staff letting us check in much earlier than normal check in! Good experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks for letting us know that you had a good experience at the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter! It's great that you enjoyed our clean, comfortable rooms and awesome location convenient to the French Quarter.

We're looking forward to having you back to see our finished renovations!

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Meh.....this property is old but I think all New Orleans hotels suffer from that. The staff at the HGI was very nice and attentive. The location of the hotel is off a side street so no road noise or screaming drunks...yay..but yet close enough to the mayhem to walk. My only real complaint was the bathroom. The bath tub surface was peeling....really Hilton....you should go ahead and replace tubs when they get to that condition. Otherwise everything else was fine. This particular hotel lobby is undergoing renovations but the room floors are not so no construction noise. One tip....make sure you call to retrieve our car about 10 minutes before you actually need it. They can be slow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athena381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Your comments are truly appreciated and I am so glad that hotel location was to your liking. The staff is always glad to hear that their service is appreciatied! The tub issue is duly noted and as you mentioned our lobby renovations I did want to let you know that we are excited that our guest rooms will be undergoing renovations after the lobby is completed!

We look forward to hosting you the next time you're in New Orleans!

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Hit and miss is the best way to explain this hotel. The lounge staff was great and on their game. The front desk staff while pleasant, didn't compare to the others. My only issue was the AC that was brought to their attention more than once. Thankfully it was not hot in New Orleans otherwise I would have needed a different room. As a Diamond Hilton member and all rates being equal this hotel is not the first I would recommend in the area. The rate should be $30 less a night for it to be of equal value to other Hilton properties in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeakyWader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
And we want to be great! So I appreciate you letting us know about the air conditioning issue to give us the opportunity to re-visit this with our maintenance team. Do know that as a Hilton Honors Diamond member we sincerely appreciate your business and want to make sure we take good care of you. I apologize that we did not accomplish that for you.

Please visit us again soon and be sure to reach out to me should you need any assistance with your travel arrangements.

Warm Regards,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel is in the CBD, across Canal from the Quarter. Perfect. It starts on the 11th floor where the check in is located and also a small restaurant and bar.

The rooms are comfortable and modern. From this location it is a five minute walk to Bourbon, ten to Harrah's. And since it is away from the Quarter and up high, it is quiet. It is in the middle of the block in the business district so there are not many restaurants nearby, but plenty within three blocks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view--our room had none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teak51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Once again, the time honored "location, location, location" seems to foot the ball. We thank you for letting us know the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter worked out so well for you! Of course being able to come back from your day's travel to a quiet respite is a big plus too.

We hope you visit our grand city again soon.

Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Pros: Location is very close to the French Quarter. Rooms are huge, beds are super comfy, microwave and small frig in every room Wonderful views. Rooftop pool is a great place to get pictures of the city. Breakfast was surprisingly good. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Had a mini laundromat right on the floor we were on, which was very convenient.

Cons: The Valet parking....expensive and I never like to valet park. But, in New Orleans, you have to valet park, no matter where you stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We certainly appreciate you taking the time to post your comments about your great stay at the Hilton Garden Inn French Quarter! Our rooftop pool has a great view and it makes for a great photo op.

Hope you're in the neighborhood again soon,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#27 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#55 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Address: 821 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70112-1531
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#70 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#72 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-famous attractions are at your fingertips at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. Located in the heart of the Central Business District, steps from the French Quarter, our New Orleans hotel offers contemporary conveniences in the heart of historic New Orleans. Enjoy great onsite services such as a heated rooftop swimming pool and fitness room with panoramic views of downtown. Guests can also enjoy the options of meeting space with banquet facilities, onsite dining and New Orleans vacation packages. Guest room accommodations are located on floors 11 to 18 with convenient parking on floors 10 to the ground level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/Cbd Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Garden Inn Cbd
Hilton New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing