We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hilton Garden Inn was safe, clean, nice hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Ranked #58 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2012

It was within a safe walking distance of the French Quarter. The accommodations were very nice; however, not any nicer than the Hampton Inn down the street when I stayed there a couple years ago but with a free breakfast. The breakfast at this hotel was $12.95. The Hilton Garden Inn check-In was on the 11th floor. When you get to the hotel pull into the parking area just passed the front glass doors (even if you do not plan to use their valet parking) as this is the only way to unload your bags. I used the parking valet at a rate of $26 a day (out of convenience) however, it seemed that you could self-park in the same location at a rate of $15, so ask first; I just didn’t want the hassle of moving the bags and car myself. When I stayed at the Hampton Inn the Valet took the car to a totally different location which I assume (now) was the Hilton Garden Inn's parking so I had to wait awhile for them to get my car when I called. The Valet at this hotel always had the car ready when I gave them just a few minutes. We had real nice king bed, microwave, mini fridge, flat screen (with all types of movies you could order) and free internet access. We had to use room key card on the elevator to get to our room on the 14th floor. The gym and small outdoor pool was on the 18th floor. The hotel was quiet and the staff was knowledgeable and accommodating. BTW, there was a CVS just around the corner on Canal Street. I would stay at the hotel again… Please let me know if you liked the review, thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dashecky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,142 - 1,148 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2012

Really? So looking down your nose and being condescending is a trend? Not in any other HGI I have ever stayed in. The front desk staff need to be replaced ASAP. I am a Hilton Diamond member and have never been treated or talked to like these two women did. If I had not had such wonderful experiences at other properties I would seriously consider changing to Marriott.

Room Tip: Dont ask the front desk staff. Go directly to Hilton.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

It is our sincere goal to ensure that each and every guest have a stellar visit, especially our Hilton Honors Diamond members. We know how valuable your loyalty is and would treasure the opportunity to show you our true colors.

Sincerely,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We recently visited with my daughter's family including a toddler. I have never been in a hotel with such an absolutely marvelous attentive staff who went way out of their way to be helpful! The baby was tired and our server in the dining room helped care for her and kept her entertained. We had lost her pacifier during a parade and the hotel sent out and brought us some. Everyone - parking attendants, desk clerks and dining room staff were the best I have ever encountered and I have traveled the world. Special kudos to our server - she is topnotch! The hotel itself was very clean and quiet. We definitely will be returning to this hotel on every visit to New Orleans! Congratulations to management too - you are definitely doing something right!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captain'squarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Thanks so much for sharing your great experience! We want all our guests to feel like we are their "home away from home". Come back and see us soon.

Warm Regards
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This property is very well situated, just 2 blocks from Canal Street and Bourbon Street. Also just a short 1/2 block from the trolley, making it a great base for exploring NOLA. The property itself is dated and the rooms just average, but nothing to complain about. Service during our visit however was all over the map. Perhaps it was the fact that our visit was for the end of Mardi Gras and they were just burned out (I like to give benefit of the doubt). But the service ranged from almost hostile (front desk, my wife call it "service with a snarl"), to indifferent (housekeeping who blew off cleaning our room one day and didn't seem to care), to friendly and bubbly (staff at the morning breakfast the morning after Fat Tuesday, 5 star service for sure). But if you keep your expectations low I would recommend this property as a base for a NOLA visit in spite of the service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OsideJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Based on the Trip Advisor reviews, two couples stayed for two nights at the beginning of February 2012 for the first weekend of Mardi Gras. The hotel is in a good quiet location, close to but not in the French Quarter (about a 4 block walk). Air conditioning worked well, large room and bathroom, two queen beds, free wireless internet.

For a quick weekend this was great. For a longer vacation, I might choose to stay somewhere just a bit closer to restaurants and a grocery store.

The only snafu we had was that the parking company isn't in sync with the hotel, so you can't call down for your car ahead of time, and when we retrieved our car upon checkout, we had to go all the way back up to the lobby to pay for parking. Annoying!

Overall, great value for the money and I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ami P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed for several days in August 2011. This hotel was a short walk to the French Quarter, the street cars, and to some great restaurants. The location was perfect because it was close enough to what we wanted to see and do, but there wasn't alot craziness. The view from the rooftop was awesome. The pool was busy everytime we were up there so it would have been nice if it was bigger. The staff was very helpful and friendly. They gave great restaurant recommendations. We enjoyed the hotel restaurant too. Our guestroom was very roomy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooperspeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Got a really good deal after Mardi Gras and had a great experience. The kids liked the rooftop pool and workout room. Close to The Quarter and riverfront. Nice valet parking (wasn't too expensive with in/out priviledges). Nice little bar and convenience center. Good views from the room. I know the prices skyrocket during events, reason why we haven't stayed there since--but wish we could.

Room Tip: Check the room AC/heat--I guess some guests have trouble getting it set correctly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PD L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue
Central Business District
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#31 of 166 in New Orleans
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Central Business District
The Troubadour Hotel New Orleans, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Address: 821 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70112-1531
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#70 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $132 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-famous attractions are at your fingertips at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. Located steps from the French Quarter, our hotel offers contemporary conveniences in the heart of historic New Orleans. Enjoy great onsite services such as a heated rooftop swimming pool and fitness room with panoramic views of downtown. Guests can also enjoy the options of meeting space with banquet facilities, onsite dining and New Orleans vacation packages. Guest room accommodations are located on floors 11 to 18 with convenient parking on floors 10 to the ground level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/Cbd Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Garden Inn Cbd
Hilton New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing