We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Ranked #59 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We chose this hotel based on a cheap deal from expedia and we had a nice stay in New Orleans. The Hotel isn't IN the French Quarter, but rather CLOSE TO the French Quarter. It's only a few minutes walk, but I thought the name was a bit misleading. That said, this hotel is right next to Carondelet street which, on the other side of Canal Street changes name and is the famous Bourbon street, so the location of the Hotel is still very good. You can't be much closer to Bourbon Street, unless you are directly on Bourbon Street, which I wouldn't recommend if you plan on sleeping at night (Bourbon is EXTREMELY noisy at night). The rooms are large, clean and quiet (assuming you have quiet neighbours, which, for us, was the case about every other night). People seem to get very excited and loud when they are in New Orleans :) But this isn't the hotel's fault, this could happen in just about any hotel in that area.

There is a pool in the Hotel , but it is very small (maximum depth is 5 feet, so it's more of a kids pool). Still, since it is on the rooftop, it is pleasant to go in the pool for an hour or so on hot summer days and you get a nice view of the city as a bonus.

We didn't have any major problems during our stay and the cleanliness was very good (that's always a key point for us), so I think the hotel is a decent choice if your planning to visit New Orleans.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhiteMale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,171 - 1,177 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2011

Great Hotel, staff was great and hotel was very clean. The hotel was centrally located to all great things in New Orleans. Will stay there on my next visit..

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morenoconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here for two nights during the last week of July, 2011. We were very happy with the accomodations. The location was excellent. It was easy to find from Interstate 10. It was really in the middle of the French Quarter but on a quiet side street. We were two blocks from the action Canal Street and Bourbon Street, and both the Canal Street Street Car and St. Charles Street Car stop. The valent parking was convenient and easy to use. The front desk staff were extremly helpful and courteous. We never utilized the restaurant, but many people did. It was queit. The rooms were clean. Our only complaint would have been that the beds were very, very firm. However, that is a matter of taste. We favor softer mattresses. The price was exceptional. We would stay here again, if they had softer mattresses that is. Maybe next time we will try one of the other (many) hotels in that same area to see if their mattresses were softer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouisianaSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I have to say that this is the first crtical review i have given for a hotel. Also, will be upfront that i am a "hilton honey" (gold member) and pretty much will always seek out and stay at a hilton chain...and to date, have never been let down-great and consistent service, cleanliness and value.
This hotel isn't that bad....it just isn't up to par with the other HGI's i have stayed in. More specifically-the rooms are a little dated...teal green carpet, tv from the mid 90's and shabby but clean bathrooms.
All was clean however..and the cleaning lady did an amazing job sorting, tidying and cleaning. Staff was also friendly and went out of their way to help and assist..kudos to them.
location is good, but if i was here on my own and not with my boyfriend who looks like a linebacker, i would feel uneasy coming back to the room by myself (and i am a person who travels alone internationally). About a 10 min walk from the main action..
the pool...well, although the rooftop offers some breathtaking views at night and the pool is also very pretty, it has to be the smallest hotel pool i have ever seen. I believe it is about 9ft long by 5 or 6 feet wide. More like a dipping pool than a swimming pool.
And it was cloudy and greenish looking..very surprising for a hotel pool. We went up to swim but did not as the look of it made us nervous...
So there you go, hope it was helpful. Don't let my review stop you from staying, overall it was good....just trying to help manage your expectations of this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljb1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It is a couple of blocks from the French Quarter, the Riverwalk, shopping, and dining. The room was very spacious, clean, quiet, and comfortable. The hotel staff was exceptionally friendly and eager to help. Customer service was definitely their priority. The view from the rooftop pool was breathtaking, especially at night. My only complaint was the valet pricing. I felt it was on the high side as it is the only type of parking offered at this hotel. Other than that, everything else was great. Would definitely recommend this hotel!!!!

Room Tip: Simply call the hotel ahead of your stay and make a request. The staff is eager to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kutiepie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Nice property and it looks like they are doing some renovations so it will probably end up being better. Took no time at all to walk to the casino and the cab rides to the quarter were not that expensive. It may not seem like a good location, but its not that bad.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
Thank fatubus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Me and my girlfriends came in July for my birthday weekend. Because there were several rooms, the hotel did a great job of getting them all on the same floor, and even next door to each other.
They allowed us to bring up drinks and food to their rooftop pool! The pool itself is small, but the area up there is large, with tables and chairs. There was plenty of lighting and a great ambiance. We were able to play music and had a corner near the edge (with a great view looking down the street to the French Quarter.
The rooms were very large! 2 double beds, desk, chair and an overstuffed chair with ottoman and still plenty of room for people. The room had a microwave, mini fridge, sink, coffee maker. It was a great room for the value.
The staff was wonderful and helpful, as was the manager when there was a problem with the valet parking.
The parking was the one issue. The valets were rude and I would not recommend leaving my car in that garage as they are not owned or operated by Hilton. Hilton has much higher standards than that garage.
But like I said, the hotel itself was great! 3 blocks from Canal, less that 2 full blocks to the St. Charles trolley. It's a great location, nice large rooms, extremely friendly and professional staff.
Absolutely worth staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWintheSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#30 of 166 in New Orleans
807 reviews
Central Business District
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Central Business District
Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Address: 821 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70112-1531
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#46 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#70 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $123 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-famous attractions are at your fingertips at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. Located steps from the French Quarter, our hotel offers contemporary conveniences in the heart of historic New Orleans. Enjoy great onsite services such as a heated rooftop swimming pool and fitness room with panoramic views of downtown. Guests can also enjoy the options of meeting space with banquet facilities, onsite dining and New Orleans vacation packages. Guest room accommodations are located on floors 11 to 18 with convenient parking on floors 10 to the ground level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/Cbd Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Garden Inn Cbd
Hilton New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing