We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even prison cells get some light” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Ranked #65 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hell, Norway
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Even prison cells get some light”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

If you don't mind spending your New Orleans downtime in a dungeon with paper-thin walls, this is the place for you.

Everyone else would be well advised to look elsewhere, albeit in the same general area as the location is quite good.

If you are still a sucker for punishment, be advised that most of the rooms on each floor are in a central cluster. This means you get a fake window, not a real one. When you wake up at a reasonable time, it still feels like 3 am. Noise reverberates around the corridors, and conversation from neighboring rooms is crystal clear through the walls.

In short, this is the worst Best Western I have stayed in. It should be Best Western MINUS, not Plus. Breakfast was average, front-desk staff nice at check-in, but comletely unsympahetic if you want to change rooms.

Please avoid this awful hotel.

Room Tip: Get a window room, or look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dgdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinisha S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
On behalf he front office management team at the Best West Western St. Christopher Hotel, please accept our apology for your unpleasant stay at the hotel. We strive to ensure our guest experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. We would like to extend our deepest apology. Please feel free to contact us if you would like to discuss these issues personally. I look forward to speaking with you and I hope that in the future you would be willing o give us a second chance. Thanks in advance!

C. Brie Stradford & Kinisha Stewart
Front Office Supervisors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    439
    179
    90
    100
See reviews for
294
445
36
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We have been to NOLA a couple of other times & stayed other places but enjoyed the St Christopher because of its close proximity to the Frencch Quarter. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly & it was a great value. I highly recommend the St Christopher for your next stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbo091402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinisha S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our hotel. We pride ourselves in comfort, great staff and the perfect location that is close to everything. We hope that you travel to our area again sometime in the future and get the opportunity to experience some of our great hospitality again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The price and location make this hotel a must for a trip to New Orleans. All of the staff was professional, courteous and friendly. The rooms are charming and comfortable. We will have the St. Christopher at the top of our list for our next visit to NOLA. Great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jesse B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinisha S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our hotel. We pride ourselves in comfort, great staff and the perfect location that is close to everything. We hope that you travel to our area again sometime in the future and get the opportunity to experience some of our great hospitality again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Arrived early but was able to check in, Brie was extremely helpful and friendly. We change our reservation to the 3 day Audubon package after Brie carefully explain to me everything that was included. Great package, well worth it. We had a minor glitch one day and getting our car but Johnny stay late to make sure we were taken care of before he went home. We were meeting another couple, Brie went the extra mile to try to get us on the same floor and was able to. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mitchell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinisha S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your review on our property. We do feel as though ALL of our guest are royalty and we are pleased that we could make your stay a great one. If you find yourself in the downtown New Orleans area again, please come over and visit as we would love to shower you with our southern hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is over rated!!! There was mold on the ice tray,everything was dusty and the rooms are tiny. We reserved our rooms month in advance and requested that they were next to each other and they were not. Then we were missing half a tank of gas while are car was valet!!!!!!!! Do not stay here!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrd0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinisha S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
On behalf he front office management team at the Best West Western St. Christopher Hotel, please accept our apology for your unpleasant stay at the hotel. We strive to ensure our guest experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. We would like to extend our deepest apology. Please feel free to contact us if you would like to discuss these issues personally. I look forward to speaking with you and I hope that in the future you would be willing o give us a second chance. Thanks in advance!

C. Brie Stradford & Kinisha Stewart
Front Office Supervisors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel was wonderful. The room was quiet - great after a night of partying. The bed was EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE. And the staff was very friendly. It's about a 7 block walk to the heart of Bourbon street. Since it was still daylight, we skipped the cab and it took about 15 minutes to get there, not bad. We definitely took a cab back to the hotel for about a charge of $10. Not bad.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinisha S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our hotel. We pride ourselves in comfort, great staff and the perfect location that is close to everything. We hope that you travel to our area again sometime in the future and get the opportunity to experience some of our great hospitality again.

Thanks For Staying
C. Brie Stradford & Kinisha Stewart
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The customer service for this hotel was fabulous! We drove in early 7am from Houston and my hubby was so tired he wanted in the room right away to take a nap. Check in was not until 11am, but they had a room available and let us right on up. Breakfast was great and the hostess was the sweetest lady. Valet Parking attendants were very nice and speedy in their delivery of your vehicle. Great location, will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kandicerenee98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinisha S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to help us tell other guest about our wonderful hotel. We take pride in making each experience a memorable one and we hope that this won't be your last time staying with us.

Your Friends In Hospitality
C. Brie Stradford & Kinisha Stewart
Front Office Supervisors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#85 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#55 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#63 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Address: 114 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2421
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic St. Christopher Hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans and just 50 steps away from the world famous French Quarter. We are within walking to distance to the New Orleans Business District and all that New Orleans has to offer. The St. Christopher is a boutique style hotel with magnificent old New Orleans architecture. Guestroom design is warm with a classic feel featuring original New Orleans artwork, brick exposed walls and newly upgraded amenities including mini refrigerators and flat screen televisions. Select guestrooms offer a Jacuzzi tub. The hotel offers a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast which includes delicious pastries, fresh fruits and cheeses, as well as hot pancakes. Hotel guests also receive free WiFi and free local phone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing