We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just what we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Ranked #67 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portsmouth, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The location of this hotel was perfect. A short walk to the French Quarter or the cable car lines kept us close to all of our planned activities. I chose the Best Western for the complimentary breakfast which was your basic Best Western fare. Better to start the day with hardboiled eggs and oatmeal, that way the beignets we indulged in didn't produce as much guilt! The room was small and clean, we had no problems with towels or daily maid service. The front desk informed us at check in about the credit card scams so we were prepared.....although if the caller identified themselves as FROM the front desk, I might have fallen for it too. The AC unit was loud and our view was of a brick wall from next door but I sleep with earplugs on a nightly basis and I sure as heck wasn't in NOLA for the hotel view. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback. Please feel free to call me on your next visit and I will make sure that you have a room with a wonderful view of the river.

Thank you,

Daphne Augillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    413
    162
    84
    92
See reviews for
266
395
29
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, VA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I had booked two rooms here last October, for a business trip scheduled for May 2013. As time passed my business trip got canceled, and frankly, I forgot about the reservation. It cost me $354 as a result (charged to my credit card in May 2013). The staff refused any leniency or consideration of a reduction in the penalty.
THIS IS IMPORTANT because this hotel does not send out any reminder emails or welcome emails regarding your upcoming reservation. None whatsoever. Had they done so, I would have immediately canceled both rooms.
For me, at least, I will choose other hotel brands which extend that courtesy. This brand is just not worth the risk to me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gentle_heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I am very sorry that were a victim of a credit card scam. To assist our guest with this issues 6 months ago when the hotel motel association realized that a scam was in our area; we made every effort to make our guest aware. Therefore we posted on the Lodgenet T.V. in all the rooms and at check in the guest are also told of the scam. Again I am very sorry unfortuantely New Orleans, La isn't the only state at this time that is having this issue. If there is anything that I can do to help please let me know.

Ms. Augillard
Front Office Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I was victim of a scam less than 10 minutes after checking in. Just after entering my room, I received a phone call from someone pretending to be the manager of the hotel and saying that there was an issue with my credit card. She asked for my credit card number again and the day after, I received a phone call from my bank informing me that I've been victim of a fraud... When I inquired about this to the front desk, the just said they forgot to tell me about the scam that was going on and that they were sorry. Having your credit card blocked to prevent further fraud on it while you are on holidays is not really helpful...
Moreover, the cleaning ladies seemed to be a little overwhelmed : we had to ask for clean towels everyday and the bed had never been made during our stay.
Other than that, the hotel was great but I will always have bitter memories of my stay in this Best Western.
I might be able to get over it at one point and update this review to include more information about the hotel itself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ange-Pierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I am so sorry that you were a victim of this credit card scam. To help curb this issue 6 months ago we put all information concerning the scam on the Lodgenet television sytem in every guest room. I am very sorry that you experienced this issue. If there is anything that we can do to help please do not hesitate to call us.

Thank you,

Ms. Augillard
Front Office Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Hello!

We stayed here for the night before a cruise in April. Literally 5 minutes after we checked in my credit card, which was only used there, was stolen! Thank goodness my credit card company is amazing and called me about suspicious charges. After contacting Best Western about this I was told "they sent this to higher management" and then never heard back from then. Nice hotel, shady employees.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I am very sorry that you experienced the credit card scam that is happening in the hospitality industry world wide. To help cut down on this scam the St. Christopher Hotel put all scam information on the Lodgenet T.V. sytem in all the guest rooms this sytem has been in place for a long time. Again I am very sorry if there is anything that we can do to help please do not hesitate to call.

Thank you,

Ms. Augillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is well located and the price was very reasonable compared to others in the area. It was an amazing surprise not only because we liked a lot the room, also the breakfast was included and good enough. For us, verything worked. They gave us a room in the fifth floor, it wasn't noisy at all. Everything was clean and in a good conditions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elinadallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. All of us at the St. Christopher Hotel welcome you to come back anytime and see us. It was our pleasure to serve you during your trip.

Thank you,

Ms. Augillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
409 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We moved to this hotel after staying a couple of days in Nearby Courtyard, and must say that the change was for good. The location is good to visit French Quarter, and NOLA in general.

The rooms are a little small, but not bad. Be sure that the room you reserve has windows, as I think they have some "interior rooms" without (an absolute no, no) and it is kind of a cozy place, with old style decor. Clean, good service, well equipped. And for less $ than the Courtyard, we got breakfast included. No doubt a good option for a inexpensive stay near the eboullious Bourbon St.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pauak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your survey, we welcome you to come back anytime and have a great time.

Thank you,

Ms. Augillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We enjoyed our two week stay, the room was clean and comfortable, the staff were all friendly and welcoming every time we arrived back. The location was great, just off canal street and walking distance to the french quarter. Also had a 24/7 shop on the corner. The room didn't have windows but this didn't really bother us as we weren't in it much.
Loved the pancake making machine but after 2 weeks the breakfast was a little boring, Ruby slipper on the next corner does wonderful breakfast.
Down points for us were that the hotel allows dogs to stay and on a couple of nights I struggled to get my son to sleep because we could hear a dog whining at a door down our hallway.
Also the house keeping was a little inconsistent, one day they left my bin on my bed, another day they didn't come at all, mostly it was great though.

Room Tip: Ask for a window if you get claustrophobic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domi2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond. We appreciate all reponses, we hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,

Ms. Augillard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#71 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
French Quarter
BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Address: 114 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2421
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic St. Christopher Hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans and just 50 steps away from the world famous French Quarter. We are within walking to distance to the New Orleans Business District and all that New Orleans has to offer. The St. Christopher is a boutique style hotel with magnificent old New Orleans architecture. Guestroom design is warm with a classic feel featuring original New Orleans artwork, brick exposed walls and newly upgraded amenities including mini refrigerators and flat screen televisions. Select guestrooms offer a Jacuzzi tub. The hotel offers a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast which includes delicious pastries, fresh fruits and cheeses, as well as hot pancakes. Hotel guests also receive free WiFi and free local phone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing