We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vegan Ethiopian food”
Review of Cafe Abyssinia

Cafe Abyssinia
Ranked #572 of 1,946 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Garden District
Description: Amazing Ethiopian food. Where we serve everything family style. You eat with your hands using our bread, producing a fun time with anyone you bring or even by yourself. Mention this add and get a free sambusa! Guarantee you'll love us and want to come back!!!
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good vegan Ethiopian food”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Nice outdoor tables in the uptown/garden district, good sour injera bread and plenty of it. Portions a little small and a little higher than normal but this is Nawlins, not DC! Red lentils seemed a little chewy and not quite done. We would come back though!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robertalynnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harahan, Louisiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A different way of dining”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

For the culturally diverse side of New Orleans that wishes to dine on something other than fried seafood and the plethora of rice dishes served in the area. The decor is fairly barren, but this may be the traditional Ethiopian decor, I just don't know enough about Ethiopian culture to say for sure. When we arrived on a Friday night, we were seated immediately (as the only guests) and our order was taken promptly. Disappointed by the lack of ANY alcoholic beverages, we settled on a soda. Word of warning: NO FREE REFILLS on soda! You pay by the glass which I find to be a bit absurd... but on to the food.

We ordered the meat sambusas which were tasty and crispy with a nice heat behind it. We then ordered the Lamb Alicha and the Doro Wot. Entrees were $16 each. The entrees came on a single plate spooned over 2 pieces of injera with additional injera on a side plate and no utensils. Be prepared to use the bread as your spoon! My wife did not enjoy either dish after making several honest attempts. The spice blend just wasn't to her liking. However, I enjoyed the food thoroughly from the sour injera to the tangy lamb to the spicy sauce in the doro wot. The lamb was my favorite, but both are recommended.

For a more adventurous dining experience, check out the Gored Gored or Kitfo which are both served with raw beef!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamieJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New orleans
1 review
“Lunch Ethiopian style”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My son's friend suggested it, I loved it . Great value with serving sizes. We ordered the veggie roll appetizer along with the lamb tibs and veggie combo, plenty of food for the three if us . Will be back

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food but BYOB”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We went to dinner here with some friends for one of our friends' birthday. If you want wine or beer you can go across the street to Martin's (open until 7PM). However, the food is terrific enough that you do not need any wine. We all split the vegetarian platter as well as chicken and lamb dishes. We got mild spice to accomidate some of the friends, when we go back we will add some spice. The vegetables were cooked perfectly and the lamb was awesome! Once the majority of food had been eaten then you could start eating the bread that the food was served on. This is one of the best parts because the juices from the vegetables and meats had been soaked up by the bread. I cannot wait to get back for more spicy lamb and vegetables!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tommy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“First and Not Last”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was our first time good to an Ethiopian restaurant. It was an experience in itself. I had a little knowledge of it from a coworker. My wife and I have seen this place many times and finally decided to go. There was only one other couple there when we arrived. We chose our seat and looked at the menu. We just picked stuff and went for it. It was really good and really filling. Definitely going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Abyssinia also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Abyssinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing