We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great down home New Orleans food!”
Review of High Hat Cafe

High Hat Cafe
Ranked #163 of 1,954 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Uptown / Carrollton
Midlothian, VA
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great down home New Orleans food!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Went with a friend and my daughter to this diner that serves many New Orleans favorites. Had red beans, the fried chicken and the pimento burger. Were all excellently prepared and very reasonable. Not a fancy place, but really good food in the uptown area of New Orleans.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tennisc-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    59
    10
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best shrimp creole”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Best shrimp creole I've ever had. Hush puppies okay. Should've had the okra and tomatoes or other fresh vegetables. Hubbie had chicken etouffee. Tasty but creole was better. On-street parking. Near hospital. We ate early so plenty of tables available.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oldlady5010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Outstanding Southern Food and Service”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had dinner at High Hat over Memorial Day weekend. More of a place for locals than tourists - which is why we liked it - though we are from out of town. Need to take a cab to get there if you are staying in French Quarter. Casual place. Food is absolutely excellent. Everything high quality and fresh. We had fried catfish, and the spicy fresh fish of the day. Just outstanding. Also had gumbo and hushpuppies, so good. The service is friendly and cooperative and offered suggestions when we had questions. When you are done eating, they will also call you a cab to get back to town if you need one. Cannot recommend highly enough - you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Detailsimportant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Should We Tell?”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch there on Mothers Day. Guarantee there were only two tourists in the High Hat that day. It is very much a locals restaurant, but with it's growing TA profile that may change.
Lunch was wonderful. Service faultless. Value for money excellent.
It's not easy to get to. A combo of public transport and walking, or a sizeable cab trip. I guess that will keep it from becoming too touristy, but if you're happy to make the effort the reward is there.
We loved it.

Helpful?
1 Thank GBSWBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Local food & feel”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

High Hat is just such a great place. Consistently good, love the people, the food's scrumptious and local. It can't be beat and the pricing is just what I like.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NanaLindaIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Hat Cafe also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to High Hat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing