We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Ranked #85 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed at this property August 1-8. The service provided was outstanding. All of the staff were welcoming, friendly, upbeat and helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean and we used our small kitchen quite a few times.

The overall quality of service provided by the hotel was great value for money. Everything was top notch! The breakfast had lots of variety and the social evenings that are held during the week, Tuesday - Thursday, are an amazing extra. We had a great time at the social evening meeting fellow guests. The social evenings include free food and drinks (beer and wine!). Wow! Love the local beer - Abita. The staff that work these social evenings are incredibly customer-focused.

The hotel is within very reasonable walking distances of everything including the trolley cars and buses, the French Quarter, the warehouse district, the French Market, and more.

Overall, the week we spent in New Orleans was like no other trip we’ve taken before. We now understand what is meant by ‘southern hospitality’. Truly, the staff at the Staybridge and the people of New Orleans made it a vacation we’ll remember and talk about for years to come.

We would not hesitate to return and stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prairiegirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear prairiegirl40,

Thank you for your Amazing review!! As I was reading your review the smile on my face just kept growing. Your experience is exactly what our staff and leaders work hard everyday to provide to each guest that stays with us. I will be sharing your review with our staff and leaders this week to remind them that the service we work hard to provide is appreciated by our guest. I was also full of pride to know you spent a week in our city and immediately wondered about all the things you experienced and would like to provide you with 10-15 more things to do the next time you get a week or long weekend to visit our city.

Thank you for your comments. Thank you for your business. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Staybridge New Orleans very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 937 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at staybridge one August weekend and had an excellent experience. The room was quite spacious and full of extras that usually don't come along with your typical hotel room. The service was good, especially the front desk nightine staff. The breakfast was a nice added bonus. It is in a great location that is within very simple walking distance to most of the happening areas. The girlfriend and I are hoping to visit NOLA soon and will more than likely stay here once again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmassoli255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear jmassoli255,

Thank you for stay with us with your girlfriend while visiting New Orleans. Your review highlighted our location, staff and spacious suites. These are the things we are most proud of along with the extras you mentioned. We hope you establish many more memories staying with us at the Staybridge New Orleans and return often.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to visit again in the near future.The staff was very friendly I called in advance to let the staff know we would be checking in later. Monique was very helpful and assured us our room would be available when we checked in. We had two rooms one with a king bed and 2 double beds and a 2 bedroom suite both with double rooms. The kitchenette was very handy traveling with kids but it would've been nice to have an oven. The location was the best everything was within walking distance from the French Quarter to Jackson Square. It's a great secret to be so close but not have the expensive prices of hotels two streets over. My only complaint was the dryers worked poorly and the washer on the 5th floor did not work.The garage was small but secure and since we were so close we really didn't move the car much
The hotel lobby always smelled great! Latisha at the front desk was very friendly as well.During our stay we enjoyed breakfast and an evening meal.Great value for a family.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Bri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Bri C,

Thank you so much for your comments about our location, staff and size of our suites. Thank you for your business and bringing a 2 bedroom suite along with 2 additional suites. Now that you know our secret about being in a great location and best value hotel in New Orleans we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

The location is great. When you leave out of the hotel, turn left to go into the French Quarter and right to go WWII museums and such. Straight ahead will get you to the casino, mall and ferry. You will still have a little bit of a walk to the nearest streetcar, but the walk is easy and the area is safe. The parking garage was very tight for our large SUV, but it worked. Parking is expensive in NOLA, so the charge was typical I'd say. We made the mistake of parking across the street in order to check in and the staff told us to hurry and get our vehicle before the city puts a boot on it. The check-in was confusing because we didn't know where to park. I didn't see a sign to direct us and our large SUV had a hard time squeezing into parallel parking. When you check in, parallel park in front of the hotel and I'd unload there as well. The parking garage is very safe - you can't get into it without your hotel key. It was surprisingly quiet and I'm very sensitive to noises. The room was clean - we stayed in the largest 2 BR suite and had a party of 6. It was the perfect size for us. We were on the 16th floor and the view was nice. Of course you'll be looking at roof tops, but we could see the bridge, which was pretty at night. The staff was very friendly and always ready to answer my questions. The breakfast was good - the earlier you get there, the better due to crowds. The evening meal is Tues - Thurs at no charge and it's fair. The pool is small, but we were usually the only ones there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Lori G,

Wow!!! Your review on the location of our hotel was awesome identifying that we are truly close to all great things to do in New Orleans. Our parking situation has recently expanded and I am working to make the process better. We are limited to the tight surroundings in our garage which make for some small spots for large SUV's. The high point is that our location is so great that once you park upon arrival it is easy to enjoy the highlights of our city within walking distance.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Staybridge New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Really nice hotel close to the French Quarter with casino right across the street. Extremely nice staff and very accommodating. Free breakfast was pretty good. Rooms are very spacious and had everything we needed. Overall great experience.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Emily C,

Thank you for your review and great comments about our location, size of our suites and breakfast. I hope you come back to New Orleans soon and come back to the Staybridge New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Parking was confusing and cost $33 per day. Check in was OK. Ended up with a smoking room (did not know that those even existed anymore) and boy did it smell like a cigar. Room was nice....bed was great. Breakfast was good....evening reception was awesome. The property location was great....half way between the convention center and French Quarter. Nice view.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank castanza0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear castanza0,

Thank you for your comments and review. I apologize for checking you into a smoking room. I am very glad you enjoyed the comfort of the bed, our breakfast, PM Social and great location during your time here in New Orleans. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed at the Staybridge New Orleans for a week long visit. It is absolutely ideally located for any New Orleans visit, within walking distance of just about anything on the major attractions list. It is also close to great places to eat and shopping, and very reasonably priced.

The hotel is kept quite clean, and I'm sure that's a challenge in the particularly rainy weather with so many people going in and out of the building.

Our only issue was with the staff - they were less than helpful during our stay, and several times presented an attitude that we were bothering them.

For instance, when we checked in we asked the girl at the reception desk if she knew the weather forecast for the evening (it was raining when we arrived, and we were trying to decide whether to order a delivery or go out to eat). She replied, "I have no idea."

Given that the weather is pretty changeable, and knowing that Staybridge does actually post daily weather forecasts near the elevator (I did not know that when I asked), I'm pretty sure there is access to this information at the front desk as well. The receptionist wasn't interested in getting that information for us.

The other staff we had difficulty with was in the eating area. Breakfast and Sundowners opened late every day we were there, and staff was unavailable when we and several other guests went looking for them. One lady picked up a bagel and found it had mold on it. She walked to the kitchen door and gave it to the staff, who took the bagel then closed the kitchen door so no one else could bother them. Several times there were shortages of utensils and other items, but no one could get any staff to respond.

The same sort of issue happened with the drink area. The staff person who was supposed to be in the drink area wasn't there, although there was a lengthy line. When people began to pour their own beverages he appeared and told them, "You can't do that. He then proceeded to pour VERY, VERY slowly. In all, it took seven minutes (yes, we timed it) for my husband to get our beverages.

We went to one Sundowner, and decided it wasn't worth the effort. We stopped eating breakfast in the breakfast area after the second day as well, for the same reason. That was a shame - I really do love the waffles.

Other than the issues with staff, though, the hotel is very comfortable and an excellent stay. We always felt safe, the bed was very comfortable, the cleaning was quite thorough, and the kitchenette was VERY handy for snacks. Also - the view from our bedroom window was incredible, especially during one of the thunderstorms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Shawn D,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your detailed review. I appreciate all of your comments and thank you for the detail. All of our staff in the Breakfast and PM Social are still in their training periods and I apologize for the lack of consistent service you experienced. I was disappointed to hear about the interactions you had with our front desk and I am personally getting involved with their customer service training.

If your travels bring you back to our city I would like to ask you to come back to the Staybridge New Orleans to see the great changes I expect our guest to experience in the coming weeks.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Orleans
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express New Orleans Downtown
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#55 of 167 in New Orleans
2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites New Orleans

Address: 501 Tchoupitoulas St., at Poydras, New Orleans, LA 70130-3209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#65 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $124 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Valued Guest, Welcome to the New Orleans Staybridge Suites, where we're more than just your typical New Orleans Hotel! The goal of our team is to make you feel like you're staying with family while in New Orleans. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, your comfort is our top priority. So, get comfortable in one of our spacious studio, one or two bedroom suites! Then, come and join our family for our complimentary, full American breakfast buffet, featuring both hot and cold items. We also invite you to take advantage of our laundry facilities, fitness center, wifi internet access and 24 hour business center, all offered at no additional cost. At the end of your day, join our family for our famous Sundowner Reception. Our reception, which is offered to all our guests Tuesday through Thursday on a complimentary basis, includes beer, wine, soft drinks and a light meal. Due to our perfect location, the New Orleans Staybridge Suites is considered to be both a French Quarter Hotel as well as a Downtown New Orleans Hotel. No need to rent a car while here because our upscale, all suites hotel is located across the street from Harrah's Casino, blocks from the French Quarter and within walking distance to many restaurants and attractions, including Riverwalk, Convention Center and the Superdome, home to the New Orleans Saints. So sit back, relax and enjoy all the comforts of home!Sincerely,Your New Orleans Staybridge Suites Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Staybridge Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing